Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
46
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£22.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
This works fine as far as these line-of-sight remotes go. I could operate it up to a distance of 19 feet or 5.8 metres. You can stand about 1.5 metres to the right of the camera and still get the signal to hit the sensor on the front right hand side of the camera. If you are to the left of the camera, you can't stand more than about a metre off-centre or the signal will not make the sensor. The Fn button works when the remote drive mode is in continuous burst position: it works by bring the continuous burst to a stop. The middle button auto-focusses the lens without firing the shutter. I'd have preferred if they'd not bothered making it waterproof and drop the price, but that's me. There are no instructions to speak of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Really poor range. Despite the claim of 4 metres range I doesn't even work at 4 cm. Have to hold it virtually on the camera body to trigger the shutter and even then it does not always happen. Expect better of Pentax brand equipment (the Pentax camera I have is excellent).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
I bought the O-RC1 so I could fire the shutter on my Pentax camera without touching it. There is not much point in mounting your camera on a tripod and then jabbing it with your finger when you want to take a picture. And depending on what the subject is, it isn't always possible to use a 2-10 second delay between pressing the button and capturing the image.

Just like a tripod is a must for a serious photographer (have more than one, always carry one, use it when you can), if your camera has the facility of accepting a remote control get one of those too.

The O-RC1 is waterproof, small, lightweight, nice looking, and frankly, low cost. The manual says it will make 50000 shutter firings on the built-in battery, and that the battery is not replaceable. I think that should be enough for anyone. There are 4 screws, but I guess opening the box risks the waterproofness.

The ability to work with the O-RC1 was one of the things that influenced my choice of camera. If you have a Pentax, get an O-RC1.

Thanks
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Really handy for those moments when you want a photo of you both and dont want to give the camera to sombody else. Really useful for night and long exposure work. With the way UK weather is just as well it is waterproof. Great for shots of animals and children as you can get those natural shots once they have stopped playing up to the camera. Very small and easy to keep out of shot. A must add to the gadget bag.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
works better than a cable release, less vibration . Had to look in the
pentax manual to learn how to enable it in the camera.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
If you have several Pentax cameras made on or after 2010 then this remote control should work them all. Although after 50,000 operations the O-RC1 is intended to be discarded it looks as if it would be possible to change the battery.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
This little remote control works effectively. It comes with very minimal instructions. I wanted to use it with the Pentax K-50, and I needed to also look up the camera handbook to work out how to use it (you need to go in to a menu to turn it on - once you know how to do it, it is straightforward).

There are three buttons - one to focus, one to take the photo, and a third Fn button that does not seem to have a use the K-50, although I assume it is used with some other cameras. The unit is small, and claims to power 50,000 uses before the battery runs out. It's not possible to change the battery, but if the number of releases is accurate, that seems unlikely to be a problem.

Overall, a neat little unit. There are own brand versions available on Amazon. I don't have any knowledge of them, but this Pentax unit, although more expensive, works well.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
After having initial problems with it not taking pictures, I understand the problem better and have had it working from both the front and rear of my Pentax K5 IIs camera. I did read the manual and took advice from the internet. I checked the settings in "Drive" mode but it would not fire the camera to take pictures with the camera flash. Having said all the above I got it to work eventually through experimenting and working logically. The problem lies with settings in the camera. If the camera does "not agree" with the settings within, it will not take pictures using the remote, i.e., ISO, f-number/aperture and shutter speed. Please note that the RICOH website does not mention the compatibility of this item with the K5 series of cameras but the manual does recommend it. It works straight away and there are no Bluetooth or wireless-pairing issues to consider.
The Pentax O-RC1 is a good remote, simple to use, there are no worries about water splashes and it provides the means to attach a lanyard should you wish to keep it close by. I would recommend it but check your camera settings are correct for the environment you are shooting in and you have the camera set to the wireless settings in "Drive" mode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
This is fantastic for a serious landscape photographer. Works well and allows for far easier tripod work with no chance of camera shake at low shutter speed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
dont buy this product it fails after a few weeks I have sent it back to Pentax for replacement and I am having problems getting them to replace
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)