Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
137
4.5 out of 5 stars
Style Name: 120 Litres Wheeled|Colour: Black/Thunder|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2013
I took this bag on a three month trip to Africa and it really let me down. I was furious as I have five Berghaus Mule products and really rate them. The problem is that the wheels splay under weight and you end up dragging the bag along like a plough. Have just compared the Mule 100 (I have one) and the 120 and discovered what the flaw is - the manufacturer has cut corners and used the same reinforcing ribs on both bags - in the case of the Mule 120 it is about ten centimeters too short! This leaves the wheels unsupported and hence the problem - such an excellent product let down by such a stupid short cut. I am going to try and modify mine and repair all of the damage done to the underside from dragging it around Africa. Am dissapointed that Bergahus let that slip through their quality control. Sadly I cant return it now as bought it on Amazon in January. My advice - stick to the Mule 100 - it is brilliant!Berghaus Mule 120 Wheeled Unisex Adult Wheeled Travel Luggage
11 Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2011
Very robust and well made, with tough fabric and strong zips. Handles long enough to sling over a shoulder, but also have clips on them which enable the bag to be carried like a rucsac. However, don't order it close to your travel deadline - the first one that arrived was faulty, with the extending handle refusing to extend. This was exchanged free of charge via Amazon returns but took a few days to resolve.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Big and good quality.
I was choosing between this one and the EASTPACK of the same seize.
Lockable zipper. I like it that it has very few pockets. Less stuff that can break.
The wheels are unfortunately of low quality. I was hoping for rollerblade wheels but the ones supplied are of hard plastic. Maybe OK for the airport buy wery noisy when rolled on asphalt.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
We were looking for a good sized soft bag fit for family, air and car travel. With its versatile wheel and shoulder strap system it fitted our remit.I also trust the in the name Berghaus for good quality. Simply scuba also had an excellent customer service response when i had a query.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
I was looking at either this or a large north face bag as a durable travel bag. After seeing this in a shop, i ordered it off amazon as it was 40% cheaper.

Whilst clearly not being as strong as the north face bag, at about 1/3 of the price it seems much more worth it. The bag material and design are great with only the wheels and the wheely handle seeming slightly less durable than the north face bag. It's spacious, comfortable to use and very strong.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
maybe a bit of an over do with compression straps which I think most people dont end up using though, it is useful of course after rucksack conversion. The other thing i have seem on competing products is softer/rubberised wheels for quieter use which would be very useful in a lot of tourist spots with cobbled roads etc.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
this is a great bag from berghaus. very sturdy build with good quality zips and fittings. buy this if you want a good strong wheeled hold all but watch the sizeing. 120 ltrs is huge and would be easy to go over most airline weight limits. im an average sized man at 5' 8'' and i managed to fit inside it!!! but you can down size it with built in compression straps. buy this if you need a huge quality bag but i think the 100ltr is a more useable size especially if your using this as a suit case alternative.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
Having initially gone for a North Face (Large) duffel bag, which is similarly priced, I was far more impressed with this offering from Berghaus. I rejected the North Face bag because I didn't think the quality and size warranted the price. I then went to a camping retailer where they had the Berghaus Mule 100 on offer. As they didn't have any in stock, I opted to order the Mule 120 from Amazon (which was cheaper than the Mule 100 at the shop). What a difference to the North Face bag! It's huge - you could probably sleep in it (slight exaggeration). Much better option - very impressed, and the wheeled facility is an additional extra not offered by the North Face alternative.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Fantastic! Hardy, good looking and fantastically spacious. It has made our holiday trips such a joy when it comes to packing and carting. The zips are hardy and smooth. The chassis is strong, and the wheels have taken a beating without so much as a flinch. Bought two, both are still treasured. Will buy again when they need replacing in time...I suspect a very long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
The Berghaus Mule 100 appears to be a robust bag, but still hasn't proofed it. The fabrics and stitchings seem to be OK, the zips do look very robust. The zip at the main compartment is lockable, but the one at the side pocket isn't. This renders the lockable zip absolutely useless, because the (orange) fabric which separates both is a) very thin and b) has a zip too ! Therefore you only have to open the side pocket to get access to the main compartment, what a nonsense.

Just another example how a manufacturer degrades the quality and usability of their products just to save a penny. The Mule also doesn't have a "stand" at the bottom, so you can not put it in an upright position without the fabric touching the ground. This can lead to very unpleasant result if the floor is wet.

The bag doesn't come with a shoulder strap, but the grab handles are long enough to carry it over your shoulder. The inner side of the back has some sort of "plastic" lamination. Will see how long it will last, usually this sort of lamination doesn't last long. It also won't make the bag waterproof, but may protect your belongings against moisture.

There is a nice video presentation of the bag at simplyhike.

Regarding Amazon : As good as always, delivery was fast. The zip at the inner (orange) fabric was incomplete, the metal "pull string" of the zip was missing. Amazon offered a compensation for it within minutes after telling them. Kudos, that's the way how to do business and keep customers satisfied.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)