Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£49.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2013
I bought myself a couple of second hand mountain bikes which turned out to need a bit more maintenance than I bargained for, so after trying to make do with normal tools then buying individual ones I thought it made more sense to just jump in and get a full set of tools.
After lots of googling tool sets both on here and on various bike sites I went with this one.

Each tool I have used so far has been excellent, It does lack a wrench to get the pedals off, but a good park one only cost a tenner on here.
The hex keys are ball ended which turned out to be particularly handy, and the chain link extractor has worked easily on each chain.
And whilst this is a tiny point, all the tools clip into the box really well, so dont fall all over the place each time you move the box. And the box is solid and compact, so very transportable.

I havent bought any other kits, but this one reviewed very well everywhere and my initial experiences with are very favourable, so I would happily recommend it to any home mechanic. You may need one or two other tools, but this is pretty complete.
I also got a park 3 way hex key and a park pedal crank spanner and I think that seems like a full set for an ambitious home repairer relying on YouTube videos!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
There is so much out there that it is so difficult choosing a bike toolkit, we all have different expectations and no doubt you have already read many a review. This is mine.

Quite don't know why I ordered this particular kit, but really pleased that I did. There is a pelethora of bike tool-kits to choose from, as no doubt you already know. What tippped it for me was the inclusion of an adjustable spanner and, maybe more importantly,no puncture repair kit; something I guess you already own.

I have used it to rebuild a bike and although I haven't used all the tools, those that I have have behaved perfectly well. For example, the bottom bracket spanner overcoming the resistance that it met without either damamaging the nut or itself. By resistance, I meant bike on floor and my 15 1/2 stone pressing down! And, other than a need to buy a campagnolo socket for the rear cassette have not felt the need to augment it contents (see Additional comments below).

In conclusion, I believe that not matter what you are going to use them for, tools are one area where you should not scrimp. Be it in the kitchen, DIY, working on the car and,now, the bike. With a bit of shopping around, the Icetoolz Essence Tool Kit offers value for money and based on my experience is dependable. Therefore So,based on my limited experience, I am more than happy to recommend this tool kit.

Additional comments:

This may affect you opinion of this review. Whilst it has performed perfectly well, I have needed to supplement the contents by buying a set of cone spanners, something that perhaps I should have considered. I have also added a chain gauge.

Paul
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Unfortunately the tool I really wanted in this set was the pedal spanner, and it was not up to the job, the steel is obviously not hardened and splayed when put under real pressure. It would probably be good for most pedals but I have a nasty one to undo. so I've had to buy an additional hardened pedal spanner. a right pain.

Don't be put off by this review I was just adding to my set up of tools, and you just accept that there are tools and real tools. and the high quality hardened stuff is expensive.

the chain link tool was good, the spanner and allen keys were nice, two nice screwdrivers, and they all go together well in the set. It certainly would make a nice present and everything locks into place in the case keeping everything neat and tidy. The diagrams on the box are an aid diagram
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Everything you will ever need to fix your own bike without rip-off bike shop prices, little diagrams on the packaging show exactly what tools do what so you can't go wrong, highly recommended piece of kit.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Great set for advanced servicing of a modern mountain bike BUT no cone wrenches, makes no sense to include them as they are essential for servicing hubs. Instead they include a screw driver, an item which most people have, would have made more sense to include two cone wrenches instead of the screw driver.

Also missing is a chain wear tool, a simple piece of metal. Seems like they chose to cut the wrong corners to save money on the product.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
The quality of this kit is excellent. Every tool in it is of high quality and gives you everything you need to completely overhaul a bike. Most likely you already have a few of the things included like a decent adjustable wrench and hex keys, but it's good to have everything you need in one box. Will probably buy a couple more as gifts. Have just overhauled our and our kids MTBs with ease using just this kit, and it still looks brand new, none of the tools bending, deforming or damaged, despite some tough work on a couple of the cranks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Bought this as i needed to change a cassette on one of my bikes.Received today 2hours later job done.Quality tools however i did have to use a large torque wrench to get the leverage to undo the locking ring,saves spending out at bike shops.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
You can get better quality tools but these are very good for the price and there is most things in here you might need.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
This a very good strong kit of tools, would suit home cycle mechanic, Has a good selection of tools to complete most if not all jobs on a bike depending on your type of bike and age. You probably will need to add to it or to make things easier duplicate a couple of the tools, for a starter kit to get you going brilliant! To be honest I wasn't expecting too much from it because there were other tool kits that were three times as expensive, but when you look closer at the pictures they were the same kit just rebadged. luckily icetoolz arent as greedy as the other companies.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Everything for the cycle and more! Now I have this, don't know how I got on without it. The only thing it doesn't include is a stand.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)