Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2016
Really useful this is in two pieces so you don't pull on the connector just the cable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Great incar charger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
Not all car charger to USB are equal. Some cheaper models aren't fused so you device runs unprotected. On cheaper electronics this can be a risk to your device. Also the cheaper models don't always deliver as much power as need which can mean charging takes longer than necessary. Or some items from won't even charge as not enough amps are being delivered. This works well, its made of high quality plastic and rubber cable casing and has a overall quality feel to it. It works with all my other USB devices without a problem. Also as the cable is detachable you can use other cables with different connectors or replace if broken.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
I bought this for the HTC Desire after reading that car chargers which were not genuine HTC did not supply enough power to keep the phone charged while using Satnav applications.This charger will put in more power than the phone uses while having GPS and GPRS switched on(GPS drains the battery very quickly).In a test I used google maps with GPS & GPRS switched on,the phone was only half charged at the start and after about 60 miles,the phone was fully charged.
The cable,although detachable has 2 negative points.
1: If you like your satnav on the right side of the steering wheel as I do,the cable will stretch but seems to be putting strain on the phone's charging socket.
2: When the cable is detached and plugged into a usb port on a pc it will charge the phone but cannot be used as a data cable.
ie. when the phone is used as a disk drive the pc will not recognise it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This IS a HTC charger, it is for the HTC Desire, it does cost a little more than a universal non-original but it is more solid has a better quality feel to it. It is also quite handy that it has a USB connection for the cable. The coiled wire on this charger is not massively long but adequate in most cars to reach from the cigarette lighter socket to a mount on the dashboard. It may not reach all the way to a windscreen mount if you have an awkwardly sited socket. You can always use the cable that came with phone as it fits perfectly into the top of the charger.

(I have always been a little bit wary of buying non-original or universal charging equipment for electrical goods.
They always tend to look better value as they are usually significantly cheaper. HOWEVER: When it comes to protecting your investment it is always better to take original equipment and you will be less likely to be disappointed or have your electronic device go up in flames. I once bought a charger described as original and it wasn't, the connector was the wrong shape for the socket on that particular phone. I didn't realise this until I had plugged it in and damaged the charging socket on the phone.)

All in all, it does what it should, it is as described and it only loses one star because the length of the cable may not be enough for some cars.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
This nifty little car charger is well made and works very well, charging my phone at the same speed as a mains powered charger (as opposed to plugging it into a USB 2.0 port on a computer, which takes ages).

One thing that may not be clear from the description is that it's a universal USB charger, not just for HTC / micro-USB phones. It's got a standard USB connection so anything that can be charged via USB can be charged with this by simply using an appropriate cable. I've used it to charge a Nokia phone, my Tom Tom sat nav and my wife's iPhone as well as my HTC Desire.

Very useful.

Oh, and it was delivered amazingly quickly too.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
I bought this to charge my htc in my car, I decided on the official htc model rather than a cheap copy so I was sure to get a decent product especially as some cheaper models are not fused and might damage your phone if something goes wrong. It arrived in neat packaging and looked well made as you would expect from a genuine product. Everything seemed fine until I plugged it into my 12 volt cigarette socket in my car, there was no power to my phone unless I pushed it quite hard into the socket. It seemed the charger was too big for the socket, so I tested it against some other charges and they all have smaller heads. It did however fit my mums car no problem, so it seems pot luck if you get this to fit in your car. I can't say I ever had this problem before with other chargers so am disappointed with htc. I did manage to get it to fit in my car by filing the plastic at the end to reduce its size with a metal file, its not ideal but it worked. So if you buy this for your car make sure you have a file handy just in case.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
This product was exactly what I asked for, a GENUINE HTC article which works beautifully. I am confident I can travel with my mobile knowing that it won't 'run out' plus there is the additional benefit of the extra USB cable should mine go astray.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
This is the only charger you should use to charge your Desire while travelling in the car. I have used it now for several weeks up and down the M1 with GPS and bluetooth on the whole time and it has kept the phone fully charged for when I get out the other side - I am talking of at least a two hour trip here twice a day. It outputs 1Amp which is the same as the home charger supplied with the phone. It also stops charging when the battery is full.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
As mentioned before, it doesn't fit the Honda Civic (06 on), and I expect it may not fit all cars out there. It did however work fine in my Ford and in the boot connection of the Civic. So the charger itself is fine, just not all cigarette lighters are the same. However, there is a thread on CivInfo titled "Changed the Ciggy Lighter for one of these..." that details a quick and easy fix for this (may work on other cars as well).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse