Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 14 May 2011
HAD THE BELL HELMET FOR ONLY TEN DAYS BUT IT WORKS.Had a nasty fall off the bike bruised and battered the Helmet did not surive but I did.Very good value for money.Have reordered a new one
My head made contact first with the ground the helmet stayed on my head and retained its shape although on inspection was cracked through the left rim.Lots off gravel rash but head undamaged
11 Comment| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2011
I bought one of these by chance, as I felt that with commuting in and out of Leeds, i was risking the unthinkable. As an experienced rider (15+ years competitive level of Cross Country racing) I thought I'd always be able to avoid a compromising situation on the road, yesterday however I was proved wrong when a car came out of nowhere and smashed into me, sending me over the bonnet, causing me to land on my head and shoulder on solid tarmac. Luckily my neck wasn't broken and my head was protected by this helmet which now has two large cracks through the top of it, which would have been my skull. The Police said I would have almost certainly died without the helmet.

It may not look so cool to wear one, but jazz it up with some sunnies, swallow your pride and wear one.

Lastly, I'd say make sure you tighten the straps suffciently sufficiently to ensure the helmet covers your head if you pull it from side to side, front and back.

Hope this helps someone.
33 Comments| 175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2011
A great cycle helmet at a great price.

As a motorcyclist I was attracted by the manufacturer: Bell, a leader in motorcycle helmets; I reckoned they should know what they're doing!

The great thing about this helmet is that it's fully adjustable: one size fits all. No two heads in the same general size range will be the same, so it's the sensible way to go, especially buying online.

The helmet comes with very clear fitting instructions. These are excellent and tell you exactly how to test for fit after making the various adjustments. I would emphasise the instruction that the side 'split' should be just below and IN FRONT of the ear. This ensures the front straps are more vertical on the side of the head and really does make the helmet sit more firmly, and stops it moving backwards. Put the strap 'split' just a little further back (below the ear) and the helmet will move up on the forehead when you put the helmet through their recommended 'serious' fit test.

It took me about an hour to make all the adjustments to my satisfaction and I would recommend not rushing. The first time I made the adjustments it seemed ok, but just failed the 'serious' fit test. I couldn't initially work out why (see the comment above about the side strap 'split' point -- I had to move it forward by only about half a centimetre).

As this is my first cycling helmet it felt a little strange at first, but it really is comfortable. I'm delighted.

Is there a gripe? A tiny one which may apply to all cycling helmets. I don't know. On a motorcycle helmet there is a single strap that you pull to tighten the helmet. Due to the method of construction of the Bell cycling helmet there are two straps that go through the chin click fixing, and these have to be laboriously threaded through and the correct tension established by trial and error. I have a big head but that still left lots of strap hanging free. Incidentally, these hanging straps MUST (for safety - dire warning given in the instructions) be threaded through a little rubber band that will undoubtedly be the first thing on the helmet to give up the ghost. The extra hanging straps then need to be either cut off or (my solution) bundled up in another rubber band. Once through that kerfuffle, the helmet is 'set up' and can be put on and off quickly and efficiently with a single 'click fixing'.

Update 13 June: Having now cycled in the rain, I can confirm that the peak keeps the rain out of the eyes, even when going at speed downhill. A great addition.
11 Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2012
This helmet came in at a great price compared to the local bike shops. It feels solid, it is very comfortable although I need to get used to the adjustments as it seems to slip forward a little on my head. Adjusting it is very simple and straightforward.
The real test of a bike helmet is, of course, how it performs when you whack your head off the ground and I haven't done this, yet. I might try it tomorrow, get some speed up going down a steep hill, aim for a deep pothole and see what happens.
So if you don't hear from me again, make your own mind up about this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
I use it on every bike ride , not tested in a crash though [ touch wood ] !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Prompt delivery, excellent helmet (going strong after 2+ years)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2013
A replacement for anidentical one that suffered a split in an accident - proves the value of the helmet as I didn't even realise I had hit my head so hard until I noticed the 30mm splitin the side of the old Bell helmet. This one hasa slightly better fit around the head, feels cosier and has more openings, so colder these winter months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 October 2013
Great price and a great helmet for the protection given. It is always recommended to wear a helmet on the road, as you never know what might hit you. The Bell Ukon is adjustable and thus makes it quite comfortable to wear - I highly suggest getting yourself this helmet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
An excellent high quality helmet. No issues at all I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2013
Have not yet had an accident with this on however the fit is good, the style is good and it feels like it will protect me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)