Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
355
3.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£1.87+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2010
Ok I'm a driving instructor so I know a thing or two about L plates!

Firstly I find variations in the design between sellers/suppliers. But all L plates are legally required to meet strict dimensions and must be red (a set I bought from a well known DIY chain were not legal).

As the cold weather arrives I find fully magnetic L plates fly off the car more readily-the bonnet of my car is curved and there is no other place at the front of the vehicle to put them.
But you can do something to improve adhesion. You need the surface of the L plate and the paintwork clean.
Yes warming them up before you apply them helps- warm water or stick them to the radiator in the house!(a warm bonnet helps-would your hairdryer reach?) ;)
Also a little moisture behind helps them stick but not for long periods- it's not good for the paintwork.

Ok so here's my opinion of these AA plates:

They are legal (although they are slightly pale red).

They are cheap.

They arrived quickly.

But they don't seem good quality!
I usually buy from Halfords but when my old pair had faded I decided to try these.

I bought them at the end of September while it was still warm and they did not lay flat from the start.
I lost 2 pairs within days and at relatively low speeds!
They are made from a different, thinner material to the Halfords plates, they don't form with the shape of the bonnet and even curl up!
I've resorted to using them on the rear of the car only now (gone back to the expensive Halfords plates on the front).
I'm guessing the extra wieght, thickness (therefore magnetism) and different material help the Halfords plates adhere better. The Halfords plates usually stay on at 70mph on the dual carriageway!

So unless I bought a bad batch of plates I don't know how the other reviewers have given them such high ratings.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
I purchased these L plates only the other day to find that they are NOT FULLY ADHESIVE and NOT AA PLATES. They are a completely different plates and have these pathetic excuses for magnetic strips on the back... The kind of ones that you can get from poundland.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
Recieved these today, they were not AA plates but plates from a company called Maxim (not sure if the two companies are linked at all). Regardless of manufacturer, the plates are falsely advertised because they are NOT fully magnetic (as in the entire bottom face being magnetic) but attach to the car via magnetic strips, which means they will blow off at high speeds.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
I would not advise anyone to buy those as they have arrived in clear plastic bag without AA logo on them.They really cheaply made and after one car journey we have lost one of them already.They do not stick into the car well.
Do not waste your money.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
I have purchased 4 sets of magnetic L plates now. I bought 2 of these particular ones. Thus far, every set have been blown off and been lost. These particular ones are probably the worst to date to date where the maximum speed we drove at was 40mph and they had all vanished within 3 miles. I had two on the bonnet, and one on each side (rear of car is all glass so a sticky one was the only option).
I've now done a little research and have come to realise that the ones (such as this specific set) that are affixed by a thin magnetic strip at the top and bottom of the L plate are destined to fail every time. Seriously folks - just do not bother! You may as well toss the cash out of the car window as this is exactly what you'll be doing by buying this rubbish.
I've now ordered the type that are one entire sheet of magnetic material (usually called 'fully magnetic' but check their definition of this first if not explained).
In Summary: AVOID
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's illegal to not have L plates when learning to drive. Having them in the middle of the road 10 miles back does not get you out of it. Simply they fly off at 30mph, which is also dangerous.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
Got these for my little sis and she has given good feedback, no issues with use and stay in place.

The only issue that I have is that the choice of letters was extremely small.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Compared to other outlets and retailers these are excellent value. The magnetic backing makes them adhere easily to steel surfaces and carrying the AA logo you can expect a quality item. One tip I found useful was to warm them up in warm water first to make them more pliable if attaching to a curved surface.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
Bought these due to glowing reviews. Ours lasted one journey before one fell off. Halfords ones are much better.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
These are fully magnetic L plates so the risk of them getting blown away is minimal, so long as you have no upturned edges or corners. Warming them in water and ensuring they are placed on a clean surface helps. I read on another website to keep this magnetic material supple by rubbing a little light oil into the back, so that's what I've tended to do for some time now and it seems to work. I use olive oil ! Soil does wash down behind them though so clean regularly.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)