Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
44
3.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£30.00+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2014
Mis marketing alert. I guess I was expecting too much. I expected that lovely parchment feel, instead I got flexible plastic/card. The artwork and product design that have gone into this is incredible. However it is inaccurate. For a child it'd be amazing. For a Harry Potter fan, who is sad enough to watch the films and eagerly flick through the map trying to find exactly the page Harry is looking at, it's not possible. Despite saying

"authentic prop replica" and "meticulously created using the actual artwork from the marauders map from the Harry Potter movie series. From the intricate had foldings and assembly, to the fine parchment and inks, this quality detailed replica accurately portrays the marauders map of Hogwarts as seen in the Harry Potter films"

I was watching the half blood prince. Harry is in bed, following Draco on the map. The film cuts so that the audience sees what Harry is seeing. I paused (sad I know) tried to find the page that was on the screen, on my map but I couldn't because it doesn't exist. There are fold out sections within the map, but they don't really add much detail. For the price and for a true fan, it's not worth it. For a child, they probably won't appreciate the meticulous nature of the Latin (I assume it's Latin) that is used to highlight the walls and grounds. There are a few gimmicky bits such as 'lost wands' which doesn't appear in the books or films, which kinda bothers me! I guess,to make it more magical, a lot more fun could be had out of making your own marauders map? (Pardon the pun)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
I bought the very same map at the WB studio tour recently, and I am very pleased with it. I was surprised at how big it is when it is unfolded, and many people have commented about the paper it is printed on, which I think feels good quality. The printing is a map of hogwarts- not everything mentioned in the books is on the map, but then it would have to be very large if it was! However it is fun to identify the more subtle references to the books (more than the films) and is a very good item for a potterhead.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
Great Item couldn't really fault it, but did as others said lack detail, The Thing that confused me is that someone commented about the durability and calling it a toy. its hardly a toy but more or a collectors item as it is part of the Noble Collection and That it is not made for young Children.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
I love this replica and it's a nice addition to a Harry Potter collection. Good quality, folds out nice and the detail is as expected. Thought I'd mention that the people who have given this 1 or 2 stars clearly didn't understand what they were buying. This isn't a toy, it's a collectible. Yes, obviously a piece of paper will rip if played with by children, and how much detail did you expect it to include?! Obviously it doesn't have the dots of every student and professor, but it details the seven passages out of Hogwarts and labels the classrooms. It's exactly as I expected it to be and I am very pleased with it, if you're a Harry Potter fan you'll be very happy with it.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
I bought this Map for a relative for their birthday. It was exactly what they wanted and they are very pleased with it. It would however seem rather expensive for what it is. Ordering on Amazon was simple. Delivery was quick & on time. It was well packed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
A MUST BUY FOR ALL HARRY POTTER FANS! This is unbelievable as a product. I bought this at the Harry Potter Warner Bros Studio Tour (which is fabulous) and it comes in a nice protective plastic slip that the map goes in. The map is of excellent quality and has such detail. A real treat for all Potter Fans! It is completely worth the money (£30). It comes with the Harry Potter Logo on the back however very small. The paper is coloured to a classic parchment as seen in the movies. The cover is also exactly like it is in the film, Messrs Mooney Wormtail Padfoot and Prongs etc etc so it really gives you the feel that Fred and George actually gave it to you! Inside the map there are LOADS of pages filled with wonderful detail! There are rooms that you can recognise like Charms Classrooms and DADA Practice Rooms. All in all I COMPLETELY recommend The Marauders Map to ANYONE WHO LOVES HARRY POTTER! Totally worth the money!
33 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Bought this for my daughter who is Harry Potter mad, the illustration in this map is just amazing, it has everything in it, And is a MUST have for any Potter fan's out there.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2010
I was disappointed with this map. It is just a plan of Hogwarts School. It would have been nice to see the main characters identified on the map e.g Harry in Defence against the dark arts class, Snape in his potions store or Dumbledore in his office.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Bought this for my son who is a major HP fan. He loves it! If I was to pick a flaw of it it would be that its got a new glossy feel and look to it, not like 'an old piece of parchment' as in the book/movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
This is a great role play toy even though the detail is rather dissapointing. My Son has to hide it away when more boisterous children come to play as it is really delicate and after saving his pocket money up for it he doesn't want it damaged. Rather expensive for what it is but it rather cleverly folds together.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)