Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2009
All-in-one A3 printers are rare beasts so find one below £300 and one is prepared to accept a few compromises.

It's true that the black may not be as intense as some other printers but apart from that it is difficult to criticise this printer.

For me A3 copying is perhaps the most important feature since I justified buying the Brother purely on the basis of what I spend at copy shops. Here the Brother excels at producing fast, accurately scaled copies in black and white as well as colour. Printing at A3 size is also surprisingly fast.

The fact that the printer has a tray for A4 as well means it could easily serve as a single office printer/copier.

Installation was child's play including configuring wi-fi networking and at no time during the process did the printer need to be cable-connected to a computer. All computers on the network could be configured to use the Brother simply by installing the Brother software.

I can't vouch for any of the Brother-supplied utilities because I don't need them but everything on the driver-side works perfectly.

Finally the on-printer touch screen is very user-friendly and allows several favourite copy and scan settings to be stored.

The printer is surprisingly compact considering what is does and its design is very pleasing to the eye.

Reliability may be an issue in the future but so far it has worked perfectly.

Update:-

Well I've been using this printer for nearly 6 months now and, if anything, I am even more impressed than I was. Remarkably, I am still on the original cartridges, the black has 25% remaining and the others have 50%. In 6 months my Lexmark would be on its 3rd cartridges by now.

I have used the scanner extensively over the last couple of months and it is both rapid and capable of phenomenal resolution. The software is quickly configured and it's easy to use supporting jpg, bmp, tif, png and pdf formats.

I keep the printer loaded with A4 and A3 and use it as my main printer, my Lexmark is now relegated to printing envelopes and cheques; the Brother not being very easy to adjust for special stationery.

Reliability has been excellent, no loss of wi-fi connection, no ADF jams, no printer snarl-ups and no lost printing jobs.
33 Comments| 142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
Great Printer for the price, ink last a long time even when being used all the time.
prints B/W FAST
colour is fast but not on photo paper
ink is expensive but lasts for a long time & works with compatible ink
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've had my Brother DCP-6690CW inkjet A3 printer for around 6 months and printed probably 100 A4 pages of photo paper (photographs) and some A3 ones, and used scanning and copying. The Brother printer is really exceptionally good value, and I'd like to illustrate just some of the features in this video. Let me know if I showed the things you were interested in, and feel free to ask any questions - which I'll answer if I can.
1111 Comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
Bought this multifunction printer a few weeks ago and, I must say that I am very pleased with it. It is a heavy machine and extremely well built, produces good results and is pretty fast.

Printing - letters etc are printed very quickly, the ink is even and the results good, however compared to my Canon MP800 the ink is not a black and the words look a little faded. Nevertheless the result is quite satisfactory if not perfect.

Printing photographs - A4 size again good but always a bit dark and with a slight lack of detail compared to the Canon. Prints quite fast and with an even finish, however the Canon is certainly better here. A3 colour prints are also a bit dark and need some tweeking to get right.

Scanning is excellent and fast particularly the feeder rather than the glass plate though I have yet to try scanning a colour photo.

Inks are easy to fit and there are no chips to worry about if you use other makes. Inks are also very cheap and seem to last well. One thing to note - as yet there is no-one making a continuous ink system for this printer which is a shame as I use one for the Canon MP800 and it is brilliant - best bit of printer hardware I have ever bought!

There are one or two gripes - firstly the software supplied with the printer (for printing photos etc)is poor, difficult to use, complicated and, compared to the Canon software, is rubbish! Canon really do have excellent photo printing software. Secondly the need to adjust sizes and centre everything in the feed trays (eg. envelopes) is a pain so I just leave A3 paper in try 1 and A4 in tray 2 and use my Canon for photo prints and envelopes - much easier! If you do only have the Brother printer it is not really a problem but it just takes time to have to reset everything in the feed trays each time you wish to change paper or sizes.

Really these are fairly minor gripes and, in general I would recommend the printer if you need an A3 model
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
The Good : Brilliant 2 tray printer - ideal for a small office where you might want to feet letter heads in the top tray and plain paper in the bottom tray OR for really small offices like mine A3 in the bottom tray and A4 in the top. Don't expect to tuck it into the corner of your desk though. Of all household appliances only the washing machine is bigger than this although ironically I bought this machine to save space as I got rid of my A4 and A3 printers and it is better than both put together. I expect it to be reliable - the previous MFC printer lasted long after I wanted it to as I don't like to chuck things out that still work even though they're obsolete. So far it's been reliable except for occasional paper jams.

The Bad: - like my previous brother printer scans are pale reflection of original image and if you scan something pale like a map with pale contours etc on it there is very significant loss of image. This is probably the only significant fault on this printer given that in other respects it's a perfect small business/office machine

Again like my previous Brother printer It's hopeless for printing photos. They are lifeless and colour is a long way out. Quality is nowhere remotely close to a chemical process but then that's all you should reasonably expect from a 4 colour cartridge office printer.

summary - great for small office/students but not so good for home use.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
I am studying architecture, I was looking for an A3 printer/scanner to use at home.
This is one of the few A3 machines available at an affordable price. Although it might not be best for photo-quality printing, it think it is overall a very good product.

Quite easy to set up, i use it in wireless mode (that's printing AND scanning wireless - truly awesome) with my housemates, it sometimes takes a few attempts to send prints from the more distant computers, but no major problems with the wireless so far.
If you want to connect to it, make sure you get the right USB or ethernet cable as they are not provided with the printer.

The scanning and printing quality is pretty good, i'd give it 7.5/10 - it might not be the best printer or scanner on the market, but it still does a very good job, and all at A3, which is a huge advantage if need to work at that format from home.

There are other cool features (which I personally have no use for but still quite cool), like being able to print directly out of an SDcard or an USB (and other photo formats).

There are 2 trays, the top one only takes A4 and the bottom up to A3. Again you dont really need to keep reloading the right size paper; however I often switch between paper weights, in which case taking a tray out and changing paper is quick and easy.

Can't judge on how long the inks last yet, although I have been printing quite regularly since I got it (about 5/10 pages per day for 10 days - not full bleed though) and the ink levels have not gone down.

Had a misfeed yesterday, the touch-screen tells you how to deal with it pretty well.

One last thing, I had to write to Brother because I had problems registering my printer for the warranty on their website, and they never wrote back. This is the only time I tried to get in touch with them, but judging from this event and the lack of ease to navigate their website, I have a feeling they might not be the most customer-oriented company.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
After scouring online reviews to find a reasonably priced A3 all in one I decided on this one. For under £300 this machine packs a punch, with additional features like direct photo printing and its 4.2 inch colour LCD touch screen controls you really can't go wrong.

Larger than your average desktop printer but surprisingly small for its functionality, the DCP-6690CW's design is fit for purpose yet sleek enough to sit in the smallest home office. Due to space limitation mine is in my bedroom alongside my desktop and doesn't stick out like a sore thumb. Its paper loading trays glide in and out smoothly with easy to use paper size adjustment guides and handy pop up flaps to prevent paper drops.

I use mine primarily for scanning and printing of A3 artwork and photography so a massive scanning bed of 431x297mm makes light work of all my university projects without the hassle of constant trips to the library. Its printing quality is second to none and I have yet to experiment with different paper types to get the best from my machine, photo print quality rivals that of any other in its category and the print speed is, well, speedy. The black printing is slightly compromised but in no way would I see this as a reason not to invest in one.

The DCP-6690CW uses 4 inks which are inexpensive to buy and extremely cost effective. My ink levels seem to creep down ever so slowly and I use it every day. They are very user friendly to change too, no lifting of machinery or squeezing your hands into confined parts. Just the simple opening of a front compartment, a click of a button and you're done.
One of my favourite features of this Brother is the front panel slots for memory cards including CompactFlash and a socket for PictBridge and USB drives. This pretty much covers all bases for the direct print and upload of images to your pc.

I would recommend making this your all in one must have!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
It's a bit early to give a full review, but I have got it connected wirelessly with both my snow leopard imac (which was simple & quick) and to my old XP HP laptop (which being windows wanted a full software installation and a reboot) but so far I have had no issues. Colour representation looks fine (although I not using it for professional photographs) and it's quiet enough. Did not give it 5 stars as black's not exactly my favourite colour as dust shows up easily, the paper trays do feel a little too weak & flexible and it's a little slower than my old HP printer, but I'm in no hurry.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
I run my office from home and have been using this printer for about 18 months now. I mostly print plans, reports with images etc...

Things I love:
Marking up A3 or A4 documents and drawings, using auto document feeder to scan to pdf file before emailing. It is a huge timer saver.
Scanning to PDF.
A3 scanning.
Ease to use.

Things I hate:
Nothing to hate, it is big but then it is an A3 printer/scanner.

Things that niggle me:
Changing paper formats, I use my old printer for envelopes now.
Not really a niggle but double sided printing would be great, but it wasn't available when I bought this printer.

As you can tell, I like this bit of kit, print quality could be better but the all round performance makes this a brilliant choice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
This is a replacement printer as the first one to arrive would not respond to set up and after conversations with technical help at Brother directly they diagnosed a mechanical fault. Fair play to Brother, they immediately said we will organise a replacement, but confirmed later they had no stock, gave me a reference to quote to Amazon, who arranged a very quick response replacement, from Friday to Monday I received the replacement. The faulty model was also collected the following day as planned. I cannot fault the speed that this was dealt with, both Brother and Amazon deserve full credit for customer service, 5 star.
Unfortunately faults can and do happen, it is the way they are rectified that is important, the New Printer, identical model, was installed and set up within an hour of being delivered, it prints and scans beautifully, pleasantly surprised with the quality against my other A3 printers Cannon and Epson which have now been consigned to the bin, the Epson Photo EX after 12 years good service and the Cannon i9950 after 7 years, this is in addition to another Cannon MP800 multi-function printer which had a faulty printer head, requiring approx £100 for a new printer head.
The new printer is great as it can Scan A3 and Print/Copy A3, plus it is wireless, easy to set up, ticks all the boxes, fantastic for the money, now it needs to prove yet it's reliabilty but based on the quality of alot of plain paper A4 Photo's A3 building drawings and contracts I have already done it is great. Being Wireless and on my network it is also great to print remotely anywhere in the house as well as my office via the lap tops, less cables and clutter.
Overall a good buy, will consider another Brother Printer later that will also duplex print.Brother DCP-6690CW Compact A3 Inkjet Multifunction Printer
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)