Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2010
If you have a Philips 'Senseo' machine, you are probably aware of the range of beverages that can be made using this machine. It is quite versatile, and I'm pleased to note that there is now a chocolate alternative. Chocolate is so much better as a nightcap than coffee, even decaffeinated!
This pack is a good way to start off. You get 8 chocolate pods, and, importantly, you get the pod holder which takes the chocolate sachets packed in the box.
Thereafter, you just need to buy the pods themselves, as you now have the holder.
The chocolate is excellent, if you bear in mind that it will not make a huge mug. I usually watch the water stream coming through the spouts of the machine, and determine when the water is starting to become clear - that is, when the 'goodness' has all been extracted from the contents. Even if you make a mistake, and pass this point, the chocolate is still drinkable.
I found that there are two chocolate based drinks for this machine - the one under review, plus one called 'café choco' which, as the name might suggest, is coffee with a chocolate flavour. This item does NOT need a specific pod holder, as it uses the mug-size one supplied with the machine.
If it's chocolate that you are wanting, be careful about choosing the right one...
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
The Pod Holders are compatable with Senseo machines HD7805/HD7810/HD7811/HD7812 which are usually referred to as base models or Senseo 1 and Senseo 2. The Pod Holders are not compatable with the Senseo Quadrante or any Senseo machine with a small LCD screen and will need another size of holder (available on Amazon). The choco pods work in all Senseo machines but do require the correct holder. Douwe Egberts (Maison du Cafe), the manufacturers of the pods, and Phillips, manufacturers of the holders, do not make them available in the UK through major supermarkets.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
Really good alternative, though if you feel that you can get a mug/double cup out of one coffee pod, you can't do the same with the chcocolate version. I'm not sure what the other reviewers machines are,but it fits ours, which is a HD7814. I ended up checking on the Phillips website - don't try the Senseo one it's just a marketing website - no essential info!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
Great idea, lousy hot chocolate. Even if you only make a small (espresso) size it is tasteless. Hopefully now someone has started making pods, someone else will make better ones and I won't have wasted all my money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
I got this for my 7 year old for when we had a coffee so she could enjoy the new coffee machine with us. What a mistake! She hated it! And so did I! It had no taste. Dont waste your money like I did. I now have a pod holder for a drink I won't ever purchase again! Buy "green and blacks" powder and make it the old fashioned way with a spoon and kettle
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
I thought I would give this a try and lets face it I have the pod holder for my HD7814 with this purchase.
The choco pods are deeper than the coffee ones so you need this deeper holder.
However the price of the choco pods is 75p each. (See my other review). I will not be buying any more pods unless the price drops dramatically
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
I bought this so that the missus might have a frothy hot chocolate on cold winter days. I like the Senseo maker as it makes great coffee. The chocolate pod makes about a third to half a mug of what is fairly ordinary hot chocolate. So 50p ish a pod and two pods a mug and suddenly it's pretty pricey for an average drink. Great service from Amazon and the Wark seller, but disappointing purchase overall. You're probably better getting a pot of Cadbury or Green and Blacks hot chocolate powder and making it yourself.

Interestingly I bought an expresso senseo pod system at the same time and this was actually quite good.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
Please save your money and buy some powdered choccy instead. I read all the reviews and thought, what the heck i will try it. What a mistake and waste of money. As many other people have mentioned it is weak and watery, i had to to add hot milk and chocolate powder just to make it drinkable which pretty much defies the purpose of these pods. Stick to the coffee but not the lattes, they are equally as horrible and have a very strange taste. You can't go wrong with the medium blend or morning roast or try the eco pods, you can use whatever coffee you like and you still get the nice froth on top. I spent around £30 on coffee pods and chocolate and feel completely ripped off, next step is to complain to Senseo or Douwe egberts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
I bought this for my friend as she had got a senseo machine for christmas and she wanted to make hot chocolate with it. The taste of the hot chocolate is very poor compared with shop bought hot chocolate powder. And i think it is quite pricey too. I think you are better off buying shop bought chocolate powder as it is cheeper and tastes better!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
The chocolate is not too bad, maybe a bit watery but hey, not everyone likes milk. Anyway, I top it up with milk and it's fine. A bit pricey but all of senseo products are. Also, check well if the holder will fit into your machine, the handle is shaped differently for different types. The holder itself is a tad deeper than the double one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here