Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
I fitted these tyres to a 26-inch hub-geared hybrid (Carrera Subway 8), and the same tyres also came from new on a Revolution Country Traveller. I commute on either bike, and all four tyres suffered at least one puncture. Maybe OK for leisure riding, but not for commuting; I found Schwalbe City Jets to be cheaper, more puncture-resistant and plenty quick enough for me. I also found these tyres didn't last long and puncture resistance drops off sharply with wear.

These days I use Schwalbe Marathon Plus on both bikes which suit my needs much better (though the Carrera now has a Schwalbe Big Apple on the front for comfort).

Can you tell I'm a Schwalbe fan?

For information, I always keep tyres fully inflated and check for embedded glass at least weekly. I've had one puncture in a Marathon Plus and that's with far more miles than I ever managed with the Continentals. Puncture resistance is better than basic cheap tyres but not good enough to boast about.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Great tyre really quick on tarmac and ok with the occasional foray onto canal tow paths etc. one word of warning make sure you have some good tyre levers as these are seriously tight to get onto the rim, not a fault at all just be aware!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
These are quite honestly the best tires I have ever had, no more unstable cornering on knobblies. Off road isn't really a good idea, and a corner in a gravel path hurt quite a bit :-) but give that the tread is basically drawn on in crayon what would you expect?

On the road, even in heavy rain they are perfect, I have had no punctures, no troubles at all.

If your looking to ride hard in traffic then these are amazing. I've never even come close to the limit of these tires.

Love them, one day I will probably have to buy a new pair :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
Good tyre, havent had a puncture yet. Even in the rain its not that slippery. It comes with Free Inner tubes that are presta valve and a 1 year "safety system" guarantee againgst punctures maximum inflation 85psi.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Selected this item on the basis of I do a lot of miles on roads, rest assured that the performance of this tyre is first class in the wet or in the dry. Very grippy rubber. I believe that these tyres are better than the standard ones which will come on a bike Approx under £500.

Value for money please try:-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Really impressed with these tyres, well made, makes my journey to work on my mountain bike much easier with less effort than my knobbly tyres. In the rain there a lot less grippy, but that's just to be expected. I got them at a great price and cannot complain at the great service from amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Totally transformed my mountain bike, if you intend on using your mountain bike for commuting or road riding these tyres are immense. They are very fast and so far the puncture protection seems very good no punctures yet and have covered around 400 miles. Great purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These continental Sport Contact tyres were original equipment on my Marin Navarto when purchased 2-3yrs ago. I've been through several sets of tyres since (cycling approx 30mile a day, commuting into London). They wear well, offer superb grip (dry and wet) and although not what i'd call puncture proof, they are highly resistant to all but the most extreme glass or nail fragments that are often strewn along my Boris 'Cycle Super Hiway/Strip of Blue paint'. I have added to the puncture resistance by filling the inner tubes with gel and inserting a puncture protection tape on the inside of the tyre. I would also add that they delivery service via amazon was efficient and considerably more cost effective than either Halfords or my local Cycles Uk shop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2012
Looked A good tyre compared to all the rest on line as they were advertised as been supplied with puncture free inner tubes but on delivery none were supplied so had to go and buy some. Bit inconvenient as they are not cheap
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
Use my mountain bike as a replacement for my road bike when in the shop for repairs. Decided to invest in a set of road tyres instead of struggling along on off road tyres. What a difference they make zip along almost as fast as the road bike only lack of gears stops me going faster. They are a little awkward to fit and its difficult to inflate to full pressure without a floor pump but for the price they are well worth the investment especially since they come with inner tubes.

Worth the getting as they are puncture resistant what with the state of the roads and if you use 26" wheels they are ideal road tyres.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)