Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 31 December 2010
If you're running Windows 7, or are ever planning to upgrade to Windows 7, don't bother buying this card. This card uses Creative's infamous flexijacks, which work fine when the software that is meant to switch the jack's functions works, but under Windows 7 that software no longer works and Creative shows absolutely no interest in telling anyone how to change the flexijack settings under Windows 7.

Even when getting in contact with Creative tech support (which isn't easy, as Creative flatly refuses to let you talk to them on the phone, often the best solution for trying to explain a problem) you'll be given the run around for a few days and then told that they aren't interested in dealing with a problem that they've created.

Seriously, if you want to buy a soundcard don't bother buying Creative, buy from another brand instead. Not only do they tend to be cheaper, companies like Trust have a much better level of tech support.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
This is my fifth Soundblaster card and the most disappointing to date. What is not made clear in the specifications is that this is a software-accelerated card rather than a hardware one. Basically, it's an Audigy rather than a proper X-Fi. The end result is that latency can be a real problem if you want it to do anything more than normal computing. It's no more than adequate. In fact I have gone back to using the onboard soundcard that came with my PC as it performs so much better!

The other main issue I have with it is that the Mic, Line and SPDIF are a shared input - you can only select one at a time. I also had major problems with sound interference due to latency/IRQ problems. Apparently, this is a well known problem. Finally, the software supplied lacks many applications previously supplied with their budget soundcards like "Wave Studio" and MP3 ripping in the audio player.

If you just want a standard, basic sound card this will do. If you are after something "Xtreme" look elsewhere!
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
I bought this as I needed better sound than my on board sound from my new motherboard.
Modern boards seem to have adopted PCI- express as their main method of adding sound, graphics and wireless cards.

Sadly PCI-ex seems ridden with bugs.
Search the net on this card and you will see reports of pops, bangs and poor sound .
I couldnt get it to work with my CD/DVD player at all , the sound being worse than an old 78 record.
I did eventually get it to play mp3`s, but the minute you did anything else such as click a web page when mp3`s were playing, it started to pop and bang.
Uninstalling drivers , and reinstalling made no difference.
It seems my mobo is one of the many modern boards that just dont work with this card.

In the end I freed up the one PCI slot and inserted my near decade old Audigy S2 card [liberated from the loft]
You know what?

It sounded fantastic and worked perfectly with no issues.

In summary, this card is great if it works.
It just seems that Creative know it has issues with many users , but they dont offer any solutions.

Take the gamble by all means....you may be lucky, but for me its a waste of money and a poor product.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
Very good sound card, delivers greater sound than an onboard card. Plays movies in 5.1 surround sound and games sound fantastic. Recommended, excellent card for the price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I bought this to provide optical digital ins and outs for my PC, but it was limited to 48kHz, which I don't have much use for. I expected a range of frequencies and bit-rates.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
After much searching for a good sound card that could be used with LINUX, I settled on this CSB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe card. Fast delivery by post, good condition when received, worked right away with ALSA. Very satisfied, especially with the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
This was the best present I purchased for my husband this year. It has enhanced the way his computer works immensely leaving the computer to do it's own job. Good price, does what it says on the tin even though the postman threw it over a back fence (yes, what a wally!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
when i instaled thi card in my pc,i wanted to use it to output to my tv + my av reciever but there was no way of changing from tv to amp without phyisicaly unpluging the jack to the tv,so ive gone back to using my terratech aurion 5.1 that i got from ebay for 6 pound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
Card does what it says on the tin, comes with driver software and is plug-n-play simple. Some rerviewers have been critical of support, but I didn't need it. Functionality was all that I wanted, and it did exactly what it said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
For the price, this little gem is perfect! I'd been used to onboard sound after I lost the driver CD for my 10 year old Creative card. So I decided to buy this along with my surround sound system, and the sound is so much better.

If you're looking for a cheap sound card that does the job next to perfectly, then this is the one for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)