Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
62
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2012
Pros:

* good quality
* blocks all light, even in full daylight

Cons:

* I have had this product for several weeks now and have not had a single night where I was not woken up by the mask slipping off or becoming uncomfortable.
This is due to:
* The hard plastic front making sleeping on my side uncomfortable - the mask deforms and buckles
* The strap being a single band instead of splitting in two. This means the strap ends up sliding up my head and pinging off or sliding down and pulling my ears
* The solid plastic and foam seals around the eyes mean there is no breathability. I wake up with itchy eyes every morning despite washing the mask regularly with soap and water.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
I totally agree that this sleep mask blocks out 100% of light.

However that is where I found the positives stopped.

The foam section that lies against the skin irritated my skin and the hard plastic front meant it was akin to sleeping with a CD case strapped to my face. The plastic front's lack of flexibility also meant that any attempt to sleep in a position other than on my back caused the mask to move on my face resulting in waking up.

I've consigned this mask to my travel items as I may find some use for it on an airplane.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I do Night work and have had difficulty sleeping in the day . Have tried various eye masks and dark curtains with only limited success, but then a colleague recommended the Mindfold and although it may look strange it has been successful in completely shutting out the light and has helped my sleeping pattern , so I am happy to endorse this product , oh and it comes with earplugs!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
I have used this sleep mask regularly for at least 2 years now and find it excellent at blocking out all light with only the occasional need of readjustment due head movement on the pillow. When I first received the mindfold, I was surprised and dubious about it as it's construction is quite unlike any other blind fold. It's made from a hard but flexible sheet of black plastic with a thick foam backing, as such looks as if it could not possibly be comfortable. However this is not the case, it is very comfortable in bed; not once has it dug into my face. Another benefit, which I haven't seen mentioned on the other reviews, is that the mask does not press on your eyes, as is often the case with other makes. The cut-outs in the foam mean you can open your eyes and move them around unhindered. I've got so used to this that I would find traditional masks unbearable. Yet another plus is the elasticated band, it is broad and of a good quality. One drawback of other masks is that the elasticated band is of low quality and deteriorates quite quickly. The good news is that after at least 2 years, the band on the Mindfold is still as good as the first day. This mask does seem expensive for what it is, but I think it's worth paying it to get excellent light exclusion, unhindered eye movement and comfort.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Its uncomfortable and a irritable on your skin. Its fine if you don't want to sleep on your side. If you need complete darkness but not too bothered about going to sleep then it will do that. If your looking to sleep, your best getting a thinner one - might let a bit of light in but does the trick keeping enough out to sleep.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
as a black out product this is fantastic. unfortunately for me it is a single (well made)centre strap that holds the mask on, meaning it goes straight over my ears, which i find uncomfortable.i am going try putting some foam (or similar) over my ears to ease this as i am impressed with the blackout qualities.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
I've used Mindfold eye masks since 2004 after trying lots of crummy airline type masks before and it was a revelation! It is a bit bulky and sleeping on your side or face down is almost impossible or quite uncomfortbale but if you can sleep on your back this is easily the best mask to get.

- My eyes don't sweat in it, ever.
- It blocks ALL light, even around the difficult nose area and I have a fairly wide nose.
- I have a wide head so need the eye holes slightly wider apart but I trim the foam with a pair of scissors to achieve that.
- It's very durable, I get at least 1 to 2 years out of a mask.

- I've just tried the "Dream Essentials Sweet Dreams Contoured Sleep Mask" and "Hoter® Premium Sleep Eyemask" and neither block as much light as this although the dream essentials comes close and is less bulky so might be useful if you need to sleep on your side. The Hoter is awful btw, flimsy and rests against my eyes :(
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Of all the eye masks that I've tried, I must say this one truly blocks out all light. The foam padding seems to work well, but I did get a bit hot and sweaty around that area but that could be me, being a bit menopausal. I didn't care much for the plastic bit of the eye-patch though, as I thought it was a bit inflexible, but that's what helps to block out all the light, and I was concerned it might shift slightly if you're lying on your stomach, and while it did shift a bit, it stayed on and still blocked out the light. So all in all, it is the best eye patch I've used,nand am quitter statisfiedcwith it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
I bought this item because I needed total blackout during daylight hours due to prologed periods of hypersensitivity to any light. I was unable to get complete blackout with curtains and blinds so opted for this sleep mask. It does the job 100% easing my discomfort completely! Highly recommend this sleep mask!
I am delighted with this product as it does exactly what it says in the ad!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Blocks out all light and allows full opening of eyes if you just want to rest them. One drawback is need to stay on your back whilst sleeping and the strap isn't the best. a little pricey for what you get
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)