Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 February 2010
I bought my vax commercial VCU-02 vacuum cleaner to replace my worn out Oreck. I chose not to buy another Oreck due to the price, but wanted something similar and this looked like a good alternative. I have used it a few times now and have found it to be a bit heavier than the Oreck but not too heavy to carry upstairs. It feels heavier to use but I think this might be because the suction is stronger. It seems very sturdy and has cleaned my floors and rugs just as well as my old machine. The cable is nice and long and it lies down pretty low to the floor for vacuuming under things. In my opinion this is a straight forward, easy to use, good value vacuum cleaner.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
I absolutely love this vacuum cleaner. I was looking for an Oreck after trying my neighbours but found this for a fraction of the price and I think it's just as good. It's lightweight and makes a doddle of the hard floors as well as carpets. I have 2 dogs and this gets the hair up no problem, best cleaner I've ever had.
11 Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
I decided to buy this vacuum after my Oreck stopped working after nearly 20 years, as the other reviews were from people who also had previously owned an Oreck and were very pleased with its performance. I agree that the vacuum works very well on short carpet, however it is not good on tiled floors. Different to the Oreck, it is set higher on wheels, therefore it tends to brush anything bigger than cat hair across the room, instead of hoovering the bits up, so you need to keep returning to places you have already hoovered and it turns into a annoying cycle. I would not recommend this for anyone with hard floors.
11 Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2010
I would concur with the other seven reviews in most aspects. Ours will be used entirely on carpeted floors. From near-smooth Flotex in the kitchen through heavy contract in the halls and medium-long bedroom carpets. All three are cleaned effectively by this machine but I would caution against it's use on antique parquet or the more recent laminate flooring for two reasons. Firstly the brush roller is permanently engaged and secondly, as per Mrs Carter's review, the head is almost but not quite low enough to pick up on in one pass from a totally smooth surface.

One super feature off this machine is the H-U-G-E bags:) I have used most commercial and a few domestic machines and this has by far the most voluminous bags. Changing them is very simple, they just push-fit over a collar. There is a pouch on the back of the machine supposedly for a spare bag but in most houses such a thing would only be needed about 2 or 3 times a year. In mine I have chosen to keep the invoice, spare belt and instruction leaflet so they don't get lost.

The only reasons that I have knocked off 1* is the lack of a brush-roll switch and the lack of tools although the latter would need a considerable re-engineering of the appliance and add considerably to the weight. Within the market which it addresses it is ideal but I think most households would want at least one vac with a few tools.

Added Text After 9 Months - Still going strong, the only thing it struggled with is when I ran over a paper tissue.I had to fish out the bits from behind a little spring-loaded inspection port near the brush roller. This did not need a screwdriver. I can also say that I did not fill my first vac-bag until 6 months had gone by! As I said, they are huge.

*18 Months Later* and still doing fine. I have not had to replace the belt although I can see this is very easy courtesy of an access flap and I did buy a pack of two just-in-case. I have also changed the bag once more and I think that's great as the bags hold so much tissues remain the only objects which I have to manually pull-out of the tube-end! So, in short, still pleased:)
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2010
After owning 3 Dyson Vacuum cleaners over the last decade or more, I had to face facts that they are now too heavy for me to use. So I started researching lightweight vacuum cleaners. I purchased the vax yesterday and it arrived today. Due to being on crutches vacuuming is a job I hate, until now. I have to vacuum daily due to us owning 2 dogs and a cat. This vacuum was to be the spare upstairs vacuum but it is so good on pet hair removal it will be the main vacuum and the dyson will be relegated to the garage for the car! It is easy to manover because it is so light. My carpets look fantastic with just one use. It even works on the laminate hallway and the magic carpet door mat! My other half is on a muddy site at the moment and even though he takes his boots off outside his clothes drop clumps of mud as he comes through the door, it picked it all up from gritty lumps to the fine dust! It is fantastic on pet hair, kitty litter, mud, dust and it does get really close to the skirting boards. Its not as good as a damp cloth at the edges but it is close which means I wont have to do the damp cloth as often now. I found it works well on the kitchen floor (porceline tiles) and conservatory floor (laminate tiles). The best thing about it is the way it lifts the pile as well as getting all the fine pet hair off the carpet which the Dyson animal couldn't do without the help of a damp cloth!
I couldnt get the dyson upstairs due to it being too heavy and bulky. This is so light I was able to sit on the stair lift and just rest it on my feet and hold it to take it upstairs! I am overjoyed. I wish I had brought it years ago. It is not bagless but the bag comes out easily and i just empty it after every use the same as the Dyson so it doesnt really matter that its a bag. Our carpets are four years old and they still look like new thanks to the vax.
33 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
This really is a great little machine. I thought that with out extra pipes for cleaning stairs and edges it might be a little limited, but its so compact, light and powerful it just gets the job done. It is so manouverable that it gets into all those tight spots and the little side brushes, that I though would be useless, were super at collecting all the dirt from the edges of the carpets. True it is a little difficult on the stairs, but then I brush my stairs as a rule anyway, and trying the hoover on the stairs was for me just for the purpose of this review. I love that this vac is lightweight and very easy to push into all sorts of gaps. I also like that it is fairly quiet. Its has a nice long wire too which is easy to see as it is bright orange. All in all for the discount price I paid, this Vax is a great little machine.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
I can't believe my luck. I am amazed how lightweight & powerful it cleans my carpets. I did a test using my old heavy vacuum and thought my carpert was clean, then I did the carpet again with my new Vax and was astounded how much more dust I picked up, and how the carpet pile lifted. I wished, I bought this years ago.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This product is brilliant I owned an Oreck cleaner and this one is just as good but the third of the price I would reccomend it to anyone
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
Not great on shag pile carpet. I will not use it on my shag pile carpet again; I thought it was going to explode! luckily I only have long shag pile carpet in one room and the vax commercial is the vac I use for a quick clean. It is very good on short carpet and it is ok on the linoleum. It is very light to carry and does have a long cable. It is very easy to empty. Picks up dog hair but there is always a little hair left on the carpet of my very short mats. As there is no hose attachments you cannot vax right up to the nooks and crannies, this is why I just use it to keep on top of the hoovering until I get my other vax out: it is a monster vax that I use to clean the stairs, furniture etc. I do like the Vax Commercial but it is not able to do all my vacuuming jobs.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
THIS VAC IS JUST AS DESCRIBED.LIGHTWEIGHT.EASY TO CARRY,AND USE,AND EVERY BIT AS GOOD AS ANY MODEL TWICE THE PRICE.WOULD RECOMEND TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR 2nd .VAC
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here