Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
179
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£97.00+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2011
Was umming and arr-ing about getting a BBQ for our new flat, we've only got a smallish patio garden so didn't want the entire thing taken up by a monsterous 5 burner thing. Stumbled over the Cadac Safari chef and thought it looked like a good idea and bought one. Upon arrival checked out how it all fitted together (after a bit of a panic thnking a part had been left out, apparently there is supposed to be a finger sized gap between the gas jet and the bit that connects to the burner!!), bought a correct regulator and hose for it and put it all together. It ends up being a tad over 1 foot high and so far have only used the double sided grill and whilst the cooking surface is only about 25cm in diameter, with carefull alignment you can cook 10 sausages / 12 small kebabs or 6 burger paties!!!

Cleaning it is a breeze as well, just take off the grill and cooking base and clean it all off in the kitchen sink, it's teflon coated so can't use steel wool, but a material scruber does the job easily enough.

Then once your done, it all packs up in a small neat carry bag that takes everything (except the gas bottle of course), which frees up your garden for other things.

So all in all perfect for a small garden and also great if you go camping as well. For ease of use you may want to invest in a small fold away table as well as it is quite low but as it's so small it is easy to lift up on a table so it's a normal height.
22 comments| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
We brought this BBQ to replace an old one used in our motor home, we couldn't have asked for a better more versatile product, easy to clean and you can do most anything on the different attachments.
44 comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
All my life I've scoffed at those who believe that gas is in any way a substitute for charcoal when it comes to lighting up the barbecue. Two delicious meals - one at a friend's house, the other at a bistro - changed my mind, as both were cooked on gas BBQs.

Don't get me wrong, I still love all the faff, mess, waiting around, smoke, smell and all that goes with a charcoal BBQ. They're all part of the fun, and if you get it right then charcoal still produces the most perfect barbecued food. But then there's the convenience aspect of it....

That's why I bought the Safari Chef, and I bought it specifically take camping with us in our motorhome, where it replaces a much-loved (and very good) £25 folding charcoal barbecue from B&Q. I'll admit that I'm converted, at least for camping: the Safari Chef is smaller and easier to tuck away, it cooks a mean breakfast, it's barbecue grid seems to do the job pretty well and you have the versatility of the ribbed/flat sided griddle for really good chicken breasts, steaks and chops etc.

All in all, a well thought-out bit of kit that cooks really well and delivers most (but not quite all) of the BBQ experience. Thoroughly recommended if your needs are similar to mine.
33 comments| 148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
Excellent for camping. Very easy to clean and stows away in its own bag after use. On a recent camping trip used it for bacon & eggs (grill plate); chicken breasts (griddle); pancakes (grill plate) and risotto (wok/lid) - all very successful.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Really pleased with this. The Cadac Safari comes with it's own carry case and is really compact so doesn't take up a huge amount of room. The clever design means you've got a variety of cooking methods at your disposal in a really small package. It's versatile enough to cook a whole (small) chicken on as well as your more run of the mill BBQ fair. The only difficulty I've had has been in regulating the temperature, Once you've applied the deflector, you can no longer see the flame so if you want to cook something slowly over a lower heat, it's tough to tell just how intense the heat is. The dial isn't numbered either which doesn't help. Aside from this, it's a great little cooker.

Do be cautious about where you buy your Cadac though. Mine was advertised as having a 'free' pizza stone included. This basically swung it for me as having 2 young children, the ability to be able to rustle up a quick pizza whilst camping really appeals... The only issue being, it didn't arrive. So, I followed Amazon's dispute process and got put in touch with the seller, who after several emails back and forth agreed to a refund to the value of the pizza stone. Unfortunately, this also then failed to materialise. The last email I received from the seller asked me to get back in touch with Amazon as they could not find my order number or details to make the refund. Hmmm. By this stage I just couldn't be bothered anymore and haven't taken it any further, but to any prospective purchaser, you're probably best avoiding RAVIDAY. They're a firm based in France specialising in camping equipment. Also worth noting that although RAVIDAY were the firm that I was negotiating the refund with, it was actually a company called YC LEISURE who sold me the item, I'm guessing they probably go by a number of different names... so just do your research and avoid them or anyone affiliated with them at all costs!

Shame, because the Cadac is brilliant.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
A very versatile piece of cooking equipment, great idea having all of those interchangeable cooking surfaces. Just make sure you are buying the correct model. There are two models, LP that uses an external gas bottle and the HP that uses disposable gas canisters. I was sent a HP in error and found it to be excruciatingly slow to cook on, I have asked Cadac UK for the HP to LP conversion kit.
33 comments| 137 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Great product, evicient cooking with plenty of cooking optional sections. Keep on top of cleaning it as one section will become encrusted with burnt food quite quickly.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Everyone around us at campsites swore by Cadac and for many a good reason. Easy to use, sturdy, flexible, cooks well, lots of accessories for almost everything etc etc. Don't bother getting anything else - listen to what your fellow campers swear by !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
It's funny but it's not until you actually use a new BBQ that you realise all the little negatives and positives. When I unpacked this one it looked like it was well made and substantial, and indeed it is! All packed away in a neat carrying bag which was just what I wanted. Assembly was interesting because at first it seems to be too "bitty" with lots of "grills" and "plates" and a "deflector plate?" but as soon as you read the instructions all becomes clear as to their function. The warning about the sprung legs is not to be ignored, watch out! Once the legs were up you can see the burner and then you install the Bottom Deflector Plate, now although the instructions say "ensuring that it is properly seated" I couldn't see how it could be seated anything like securely so it just seems to sit on top of the burner section but could be easily knocked off!! I guess it just relies on the weight of the other components to hold it down (this could be better). I cooked some steak on it the first time and then I came accross a real negative for this BBQ. The control knob to set the height of the flame seems to turn forever and, as you can't see the flame when cooking, it's impossible to see or get a feel for (especially in daylight) how much you can turn it down before the flame goes out. In fact the flame did go out while I was cooking but you can't re-light it because you can't get access to the burner without moving the food and obviously a very hot grill plate! Mmmm!
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Great little Bar-B-Q. Bought it to replace an old one which had broken (took us 6 years of fairly heavy use to break it). Very compact and ideal for use when caravanning.
Service and delivery were first class.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 93 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)