Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2009
This a great iron. I've owned one for just over a year and didn't realise how good it was until I broke it and had to go back to an old Rowenta I had in the cupboard. The Philips GC4410 finally died (regularly tripping the RCD) after numerous drops off the ironing board; an event that seemed to happen all too often in the one bedroom flat I was in, but until then it was excellent!

It gets hot enough for jeans at 2400W and has sufficient steam (100g steam shot) to smooth them out. It has the Double Active Calc-Clean (de-scaling) on a separate button, which means you don't accidentally end up dumping scale deposits on your clothes when you turn up the steam (some irons have the de-calc bit at the top end of the steam lever). It weighs just over 1.3kg empty and 1.6kg full, so it's not the lightest, but personally I prefer an iron with some weight (to help the process along!) This of course means it holds around 300ml of water, which is a good size to avoid constant re-filling. It has steam outlets right at the tip too. Note: you refill this iron hot-plate down or at least tilted well forwarded, not on it's base plate, if that bothers you.

I liked this iron so much I looked it up on Amazon to get an exact replacement, but actually plumped for the next model up (GC4641); I hope it's half as good. I know it's just an iron, but nobody really enjoys doing it, so why not make it easier with a really good iron.
11 comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
I was asked to buy an iron for work as we have a lot of linen to iron, it gets very creased so we wanted a good one, after reading most of the 300 reviews on this iron [which were good] i purchased this one, i have to say all those reviews were correct as it is an excellent iron, its quite heavy which is good and just seems to glide through the creases.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2012
Purchasing an iron is something you only do a few times in your life, and I haven't done so for 20 years. So when my current iron expired in spectacular fashion, it was time to purchase a new one. I chose this one after a fair bit of research. The reviews for the Philips Azur range were mostly very positive, and I was able to find this model with a substantial discount on the high street. Compared to my old iron, my main observations are that it's incredibly smooth to use, and the steam function is very controllable. The water tank is very large, which means I can do an hour's ironing without having to refill. There are no drips, which is great, and it has a very pointed tip, ideal for shirts. The only negative I have is that I find it heavier than I'm used to, but this is probably a feature of the amount of water it can hold. All in all, hugely recommended. Shop around for a good price.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Easy to use, good results.

Would rate as a 5 however would prefer a plastic clip rather than velcro to store the wire and being blue it's quite hard to see how much water there is in it. Minor points though - would definitely recommend. Argos currently selling for £37.49.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Looks good! I find this iron awkward to fill and because of the dense blue colour it is very difficult to see when it's full.
Of course it takes time to get used to a new iron but at the moment I am struggling with the temperature controls. It does seem to operate rather "hot".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
I'm chuffed to have it! At last I don't avoid ironing and enjoy the process .) Before I had an awful downmarket one and ironing was an issue for me. This is not the case with Philips, it does the job brilliantly, it's not too light, it's beautifully designed, has a long cord and never leaked (so far)! I'm a happy customer and would definitely recommended it to anyone!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
Love this amazing iron. It heats up very quickly + only need a low setting to get a powerful steam+point of the iron gets into smalll area to iron effectively
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Let's face it no-one usually likes ironing. However this iron makes ironing a pleasure for my wife. She hasn't said that, but she must do because she's always doing it.

In all seriousness, with three daughters going through laundry like a catwalk show, we do need a good iron. The Philips Azure doesn't disappoint. An easy glide motion with a crisp finish.

Doesn't drip water and heats really quickly. Probably the best iron we've owned.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
I hate ironing...well that was until I bought this iron! Now i am wandering round the house looking for things that are creased. It is so easy to use and leaves clothes looking perfect. I bought it to replace a Russell Hobbs one that stuck to everything and didnt get any creases out. The Philips was recommended to me by my mum who is on her second and I will certainly buy the same again in the future. What makes it even better is that I got it half price in a sale but after experiencing it I would pay full price for it! Dont hesitate to buy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I bought this iron because someone I know has the same one. So far, I am very pleased with the results. It is true that it is difficult to see how much water is contained within the iron, however, there is a measuring cup included. When I've run out, I just use the measuring cup, so no problem. I'd recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)