Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
72
2.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2009
For a long time we have had problems with the muck on the bottom of the pond. It ends up smelling and green - even though we have a filter and waterfall.
Then I saw this pond pump - it arrived on time and it is extremely well made - I must stress this, it's not in the least bit "cheap or plasticy". I used it for an hour and the pond has been gin-clear ever since. What a remarkable bit of kit. I just wish I'd seen it years ago.
11 comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
This product is ok, in my opinion, for a pond where you are generally already on top of the problem lurking at the bottom of the pond. If you are trying to rectify a considerable period of neglect and you have a lot of silt at the bottom, then you may be best getting one of the pond vacuum pumps. For getting up larger items of debris, such as leaves, this doesn't do too bad - the venturi effect sucks the leaves up into the bag and traps them. It will pick up silt, but it can't trap it, so it just recirculates the silt and before long you can't see a thing. I guess this isn't too bad if you have some seriously good filtration for your pond, that can be back-washed to clean the filters once you have got all the silt up into suspension and your pump has presented it to the filtration system.

For the price it's excellent and well worth tryng first to see if it tackles the problem. If it doesn't, then you haven't wasted your money. You would then just have to invest in a vacuum pump and use the cheaper venturi device when you get some leaf build-up. Better though to avoid allowing the surface debris to sink to the bottom in the first place - get an OASE Swim-Skim, which works surprisingly well.

So far as getting your water clean for ever more - dream on! Cloudy/green water is due to billions of algae cells whose numbers explode once the water temperature and light levels start to increase. True, it's more likely to occur if the algae can feed off lots of nutrients due to decomposition of gunk at the bottom of the pond, but even so, you're unlikley to get on top of the problem with this device and filtration/UV alone. It's all about balance and this device can certainly help, but this won't be the thing that gets your water crystal clear. Get some flocculants and maybe algicide/blanket weed killer also.

In summary, when the pond level gets a little bit low due to inevitable evaporation, etc., rather than just putting the hose in, I'll put this device on the end of the hose and run it along the bottom periodically. That way, I'll probably keep on top of the problem now that I've given the pond a good clean with the OASE Pondovac I bought shortly after purchasing this venturi device.
22 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
I had read some bad reviews on this product after ordering, so was going to cancel but it had already been despatched.

Used it for half hour and was surprised how good it was. Yes, its not going to replace a proper pond vac, but at a fraction of the price it does and fair attempt.

To get the best you need to have good water pressure, so it worked well for me. Previous review I have read have complained it did nothing, but I suspect their water pressure was too low. I could see the vacuum vortex and detritus moving towards and into the device. Only downside is that you pumping in tap water, so you don't want to use it for too long.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
This item is what i expected really and honestly doesnt work.If it was more expensive i would return for refund but to be honest cannot be botherd.I would describe it like more of a breeze vac than tornado. Example i had a dead fly in the pond and it couldnt even suck that up .The bag was as clean as when first emerged in pond and because it is attached to the hose it eventually over flows the pond. ALL IN ALL A LOAD OF CRAP.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
Looks the job but unfortunately in my area it does not work.Water pressure to low only one bar
The idea is sound but they should state in the adverts that this needs at least three bar of water pressure to perform.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
I have reasonable mains water pressure but could not get this product to pick anything up. The collection bag just flops down the side - unlike in the picture which shows it magically inflated. In my view this product is a complete waste of money - you are better off with a child's fishing net.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
I have bought this product before but from a different source. When I moved home, I left the other pond vacuum behind unfortunately.

I was impressed with the product and so seized the opportunity of purchasing it from Amazon, cheaper than the original but exactly the same (with an extra net cap as well and instructions, which I did not have before). As always, Amazon came up trumps and the vacuum pump was sent very quickly, in perfect order, and I can recommend it for any garden pond - not, of course, for a large one but for medium and small sizes, it is great and works. To hire a big pond vacuum is expensive so this is very well worthwhile, and easy to use.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
The supplier was brilliant in helping with this useless product. It does not not suck up anything and the bag droops over the outlet hole stopping anything that might get sucked in so it had to be returned.I was being very generous with one star as it deserves none at all. I have bought a simular product from Amazon that works absolutely brillianty.
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
i found this item to b a waste of money would not buy 1 again
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
VERY PLEASED WITH THE DELIVERY SERVICE AND USED THE PRODUCT ON THE DAY OF ARRIVAL WORKED VERY WELL CERTAINLY CLEARED A LOT OF MUCK FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE POND, JUST ON LITTLE POINT I COULD HAVE DONE WITH THE HANDLE A BIT LONGER BUT OVER CAME THIS PROBLEM BY SLIDING A PIECE OF PLASTIC PIPE OVER THE HANDLE WHICH EXTENDED IT AND ALL WORKS WELL. THANK YOU
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)