Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
898
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£52.48+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2016
The Black and Decker VH780 Dustbuster looks like a great buy on paper; It’s small and compact, has a powerful motor, comes with a variety of attachments and best of all, it’s very reasonably priced. So for someone like myself in search for a vacuum cleaner with similar attributes, this appeared to be the perfect product. But as is often the case in life, if something seems too good to be true, it usually is.

I bought the Mini Vac specifically to vacuum the stairs without having to lug around the bulky house vacuum. I read customer reviews prior to placing my order and paid particular attention to the critical ones in order to learn about potential problems and shortcomings with the product. Some of the reviews mentioned that the filter needs cleaning after only a few minutes but I didn’t anticipate that would be a problem for my intended use. If I could get 3 or 4 minutes of vacuuming done before having to clean the filter, that would be perfectly adequate. In reality, however, the duration is a lot less. On carpeted surfaces, the ‘Clean Filter’ indicator gets full after only 40 seconds (no exaggeration) and when this happens, you lose approximately 90 percent of suction power. In fact, I can’t get past vacuuming 3 steps without having to stop and empty the filter. A job that normally takes less than 4 minutes to complete, now takes 15 minutes with the vast majority of time dedicated to the laborious and messy task of filter cleaning. It’s very tempting to ignore the filter indicator due to the inconvenience of constantly having to stop and start, but doing so will result in the motor quickly overheating and when this happens a faint burning-type smell fills the air.

This product isn’t fit for purpose in my view and needs further research and development. It’s unreasonable to expect consumers to adopt a workflow where more time is spent cleaning the filter than the actual floor or surface; that defeats the whole purpose of what a vacuum cleaner is designed for. If you’re contemplating buying the Mini Vac and intend to use it for very light tasks such as getting rid of cobwebs or vacuuming spilled biscuit crumbs, then it’ll probably be okay. If, however, you intend to clean small carpeted surfaces or draperies, don’t waste your money. Spend a little more and buy a better product.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 30 March 2016
Just bought this to take in our motorhome. We are not houseproud cleaning fanatics at home or on holiday, but when you're sharing your motorhome with a dog who sheds a lot of hair, it isn't long before the mh looks like it's got a pretty luxurious carpet in it. I didn't want a battery powered vac because it's just more cost and hassle (I'll just vac that up, oh no it's not charged) and the infrequent use probably isn't much good for lasting battery life either. This will be just fine for when we're on mains hookup, which is 97% of the time. It is surprisingly powerful for its size, giving very good suction. My only gripe is the plethora of pipes and odd shaped nozzles and adapters which take a lot of peering at diagrams and head scratching to fit together in the right order.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
This vacuum is EXELENTE!

Does the job perfect in my small apartment (like really really small).
Takes up little space.
Easy to empty
GOOD power (Avoid wireless ones)
The microdust-filter needs to be cleaned out after every time using it but that takes 2 minutes.
PLENTY of accessories for different vacuuming situation.

Can't fault it for use in a small apartment/car cleaning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
I got this for hoovering out the car since my dog shed like crazy. It's powerful and picks up the hair great for about a minute them it's filter is clogged and the power drops off. There is and handy gunge that tells you how hard it's working which equates to how clogged the filter is. I gave it and right good clean out in getting covered in dust banging it against the side of the bin, like cleaning a black board duster. I later used it to hoover the stairs but I could only get two to three treads done before it had to clean the filter. The unit it's self feels well made and easy to manouver if a little on the large side and you almost always have to use an attachment but there are many and all have a good seal to there is a minimum loss of suction. The extension tubes do a good job of making it fairly comfortable for hoovering the kitchen floor even with me being over 6 foot tall. However the supplied bag is only big enough for the vacuum and the crevice too amd you are left trying to house the other 15 attchments. But the mutt struk again and pinchwd the bag and destroyed it in a matter of seconds so not very high quality. I got a small hold all from cheap tat shop and it does the job fine. I haven't tried it in inflation mode but given how strong it socks with a clean filter it should be good however it is the exhaust of the vacuum so it blows out pretty hot hair just something to be aware of if inflating an air bed as you might loose some pressure when the air cools and will need a slight top up. Given the price I still think it's good value as it really works well but if only it came with 2 or 3 filters you could swap out for doing even medium size jobs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Ok it's not ideal especially for Black & Decker but from the other reviews of similar products, I decided to choose this and am not disappointed. Powerful enough for my usage but there are too many niggly bits for my liking, they could have been better designed but looks like it was designed on an acid trip, perhaps?
Anyway, I decided not to fight the bits that kept falling off and bought this Electruepart Universal 32mm Tool Kit - 32mm accessory tool kit universal, and it fits without extra bits to contend with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
Not a bad piece of kit upon first look. But some of the combinations of the accessories seem really weird. Only certain ones fit with each other, they don't all fit with each other. Also, some are difficult to take apart.

Usage? Well, it was great. But after 1 minute of use, my electrics had tripped at it was spewing sparks out of the back.

Probably got a dud, but it's a pretty serious problem to have, hence the 1 stars. I won't be getting another just in case.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
I bought two of these as they are fantastic. 1 for me and 1 for for friend after she tried it. Awesom for my car it has every fitting you ever need to get in all nooks and crannies. I bought these a couple of months ago. MY ONLY COMPLAINT now is they have gone up in price I bought my two for under £30 pound each what's going on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
This is ideal for cleaning the car or other small jobs around the house
The cable is a bit of a nuisance at times but it is far better than my previous cordless vacuum which didnt have enough power
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
This vacuum sucks! And rightly so, it is a powerful wee machine that's great for my completely hard floored flat.
Accessories are a bit superfluous to be honest but it's a decent peice of kit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2017
lovely little vaccum
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)