Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
37
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 21 October 2017
If you want cheap ink and like tinkering with things, then this is for you. I refilled a Canon CL41. The tools in the kit would have done, but I used an ultra-fine drill bit to make neater holes into the ink reservoirs. Instructions have details of most cartridges, though not the Canon CL41. No problem, the information is on the web. Some people complain the ink level counter does not get reset when you refill. True, but the factory shipping mode reset procedure for my Canon MP470 was easy to find and that did the trick. You get best results if you refill before the ink runs out completely. The flushing fluid in the kit can be used to clean the syringe and needle thoroughly between colours. You will get fluorescent fingers unless you use disposable gloves. The colours on my printouts look the same as I got using original cartridges.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Bought this for my father who regularly uses it and loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
best refill ink kit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
I bought the coloured JR Refill kit. I am new to all this refilling idea. I had a HP 351 colour cartridge which had become almost empty five months ago. When trying to print a test page with colours to see how bad the situation is, I saw that cyan was completely missing, yellow was dark green and magenta was way too dark. All the test coloured rectangles were of horrible quality with horisontal stripes, which indicates that the cartridge printheads might be heavily clogged.

So I did as instructions recommended. At first I poured some of the cartridge flush in a small plastic saucer and left my cartridge there overnight.

After that I also kept it soaked in warm water for about an hour, just to be sure.

Then I tried to print once more, just out of curiosity. The colours were still wrong and the cyan was missing, but there were no more horisontal stripes, which was a good sign.

The refill kit has a good instruction included but there are some bits missing which might make you wonder if you are doing it right.

So here are some tips from my experience.

Work on a sink and wear disposable gloves. The ink is pretty hard to clean. Even if you are super careful, you'll always have some drops of ink here and there.

When refilling sponge-type cartridges (like HP 350 and 351), don't get greedy and don't try to push the syringe all way down hoping to fill as much ink as possible. I tried that with the yellow ink. I managed to fill 5ml instead of 3ml and I was wondering how much more I'll be able to fill. After I had filled all the ink form the syringe, I pulled the syringe out. And suddenly ink started spilling from the hole and also from the printheads. What a mess. It was definitely an overfill. For the next two colours I was careful to push the syringe only about half way down into the cartridge, so this time I could fill just about 4mls before the ink reached the filling holes.

The instruction tells to clean the printheads after filling each colour. When cleaning the printheads, I noticed that actually it's impossible to wipe them completely clean because some ink flows out soon after you clean it away. It's normal. Visible ink drops on the printheads is ok. Constant leaking and dripping is not ok.

After refilling, I put all the cleaning tissues away and put the cartridge on a plastic saucer with the printheads down. There was some leaking at the beginning, but just about 1ml in total has leaked out during the night. Maybe that was the excess ink, as I have filled 4ml of each colour instead of 3ml, which is the "standard" amount for HP 351. You'll always have some ink on the printheads. Actually, if you don't see any of the three ink stripes on the printhead that's a bad sign - the printer might have problems to soak the ink for the missing colour out of the cartridge.

The first prints were not good, I had to run cartridge cleanup utility multiple times each day. But after five days it normalised and I could print. So don't give up if it does not seem to work - give it some days.

The bad news - the yellow colour was still way too green. But I can't blame the Refill Kit for that, my cartridge was left empty for too long and also I did a mistake when trying to fill more yellow ink than I was supposed to, so obviously some colour contamination occured.

In summary, I think it is a bit complicated task to refill coloured HP sponge cartridges and it may not succeed. The black cartridges are much easier to refill and there is no risk of colour contamination, so go for the black kit without any doubts but be careful with the coloured kit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
This ink is great quality and will save you a small fortune! I use it to refill HP 364 cartridges and it works a treat. All you need to do is peel back or pierce the label, draw up 2 or 4ml of ink (depending on cartridge size) with the syringe and inject it slowly into the fill hole then seal again with tape. If you find it doesn't print 1st time then run a head cleaning cycle on your printer. After use, make sure you clean and dry the syringe well to avoid contamination between colours.
It is only recommended that you refill once or twice but unless you are printing top quality photos you can ignore this and keep refilling until the quality gets too bad for your needs - I'm up to 20 refills on one cartridge at the moment - a saving of over £150.
The slight downfall (with HP) is that your printer will not show the ink levels after refilling and may give you numerous warnings about the perils of using non-HP inks but these will stop after a while.
One word of warning - the ink is NOT water resistant so avoid taking your printed stuff in the shower with you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2016
This is the best one. been using these with my Cannon and HP printers for years with no problems and great results. The HP can get picky about refilled cartridges.
Save you a fortune in cartridges, especially as bought ones are 50% empty but with this kit you can fill them up.
This ink is permanent and it's can be a messy job so use plastic gloves and newspaper to catch any spills and follow instructions to the letter.
The service from JR is superb and there are lots of videos and guides on their website for different printer types.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
This excellent little kit has got everything you need in it to refil your colour cartridges (even a small drill for making the holes in the cartridge) - I used it on my Lexmark 33, which is notorious for running out of ink quickly.

My cartridge was a bit old and dried out, but I cleaned it, refilled it and left it for a few days for the ink to work its way through the print head. Now it works just fine.

I no longer live in fear of how much colour printing is costing me!

Tip : check which colour is in which chamber by dipping the end of a (clean) cut off cotton bud into the chamber first, as it's not obvious.
Also keep lots of tissue paper handy and refill on old newspaper or everything will be blue, yellow and red by the time you've finished (including your hands)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2016
Does the job and keep things a bit cheap from paying out £17 for a cartridge. Im getting 50+ pages from a couple of drops of ink. A bit messy do need a steady hand and watch youtube videos to get an idea of how to do it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I have not yet used this Colour Starter Kit but if it is anything like the "Black" kit, then I won't be disappointed.

I used to take my empty cartridges to the local cartridge refill shop and was lucky to get 70 pages from one refill. I refilled my own cartridge from the JR Black kit and the first refill has already given me more pages than the local shop refill! If the user strictly follows the instructions that come with these kits then they are going to save LOTS of money! A comparably cheap alternative to "shop refills" and you do not even have to leave your home to get the cartridge filledl!

Good fast service as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
great buy,works perfectly with my printer and I would recommend to anyone will save you loads of money in the long term.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)