Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
247
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 July 2010
I have Multiple Sclerosis (MS) and poor grip.

My daughter 'borrowed' our original Vacu Vin so we bought a replacement.

This new model is even easier to use than the original. Just pull the handle a few times until it clicks and the bottle is sealed. In theory, its now good for some time although we never keep a part opened bottle for long. Red wine is good for MS, that's my excuse :-)
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
I have had the older model of this Vacuvin product for many years. Somehow the stoppers had nearly all stolen away somewhere and needed replacing. But instead of buying new stoppers for the old pump (don't do that) I bought a new pump set. I'm delighted to say that the newer version works a charm. You now hear a clear 'clink' when the pump has created a sufficient vacuum for the bottle. Before you had to guess whether or not the pump had performed its task. If you're looking for replacement stoppers for the old model, don't bother. Just upgrade.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
This "Concerto" pump is slightly more expensive than the other pump, but you get what you pay for: it comes with 4 stoppers, plus - and this is what I like best about it - a very clever clicking sound when you have pumped out all the air you need to, so you know when to stop. Especially helpful when pumping food storage containers. Also, the smooth (and attractive) design of the pump is easier on your hand than the original design. Well worth the extra £2-£3 ;-)
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
My old wine saver finally gave up the ghost after many years of service when O ring inside perished. This is identical so knew I would be happy. The grip fits well in palm, I dont think the alternative detonator style plunger that is available would be so well ergonomically shaped to pump comfortably. The saver removes majority of air from the partly poured wine bottle, to prevent oxidation on storage. Upon pulling the stopper out you always get a reassuring whoosh as the vacuum is released. I would have given it 5 stars except it arrived with packed 2 stoppers instead of 4 as advertised.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
This is a very effective bottle stopper, so familiar it hardly needs endorsement for its everyday use. But as a home winemaker I really value this gadget. By creating a partial vacuum it allows excess CO2 in suspension to bubble out of the wine, making a big difference to the taste of a wine you've not managed to de-gas fully at the stabilisation stage.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
Looks good enough to have on display - unlike the original. Very effective and keeps wine really well.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
It's difficult to say if it really works without proper scientific testing, but in day to day use I think it probably does keep the wine fresher.

My partner doesn't drink wine, so I always seem to waste wine as I don't want to drink a bottle to myself over a few days. This does seem to keep the wine fresher.

The caps are easy to fit and remove.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
I use this in a professional environment, to keep up to ten wines available by the glass in a small restaurant bar. When used correctly (re-seal each bottle immediately after use) I find wines keeping up to and occasionally beyond one week without any hints of oxidation. There are systems which will keep non-sparkling wines for longer, but they cost into the hundreds or even thousands of pounds. Note that this system is unable to keep sparkling wine (you have to pressurize sparkling wine bottles to keep the fizz 'in', whereas you de-pressurise non-sparkling wine, to keep the air out!) It is very intuitive to use (I didn't have to hold staff training for it, I just showed a couple of people once and now everyone does it by rote). The caps are easy to keep clean and not prone to breaking (due to the removable 'top') like some caps are. They are exceptionally low-profile, and add only a cm to the height of wine bottles, meaning you wont have to raise any shelves in your wine fridge. Without spending hundreds of pounds, this is the current industry standard for non-sparkling wines by the glass.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2016
Bought on the basis of the reviews given, but as I had read a view reviews outside of amazon that dismissed the product I decided to put it to the test. I opened a bottle of Masi Passo Doble 9 days ago had 2 small glasses from it and used the vacuvin on the bottle, left it for 9 days and opened it along side of another bottle. I tried them side by side (great excuse for a drink). There was a taste difference ,but only in about the same as decanting the fresh bottle for about an hour. So I think this is a great product for the price and well worth the money. As for how long can you store wine I would say not much longer than a week is all I am willing to try (at least for a red).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Fantastic! You just push one of the supplied rubber bungs in and pump the mechanism a few times and then your wine stays fresh. You can hear the satisfying pop of released air when you remove the bung and so you can tell that it remains air-tight. Bought this as a gift and was well received and have seen it in use many times since :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)