Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.92+ £2.03 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2010
I'd like to be able to give a proper review of this game but we haven't got it to work yet. According to the support on the manufacturer's web site this game will not work with "some" integrated Intel graphics. For this read almost every modern laptop, including both of ours. It installs ok but when you try to run it you get a warning message "The program has stopped working - Windows [Vista] is looking for a solution".

This warning could have been publicised better as I had to spend 1/2 hour trawling the website before I worked out what the problem was. Disappointed as this was bought by my son with his pocket money. It will be returned forthwith.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I still have the PS1 version of Worms - nearly 15 years old. Worms World Party for PC is basically the same idea. It has better graphics and sound and much more variety in terms of weapons and scenarios, but it is basically the same game.

The good thing about Worms is that it is very easy to play and you don't have to spend hours on gameplay. You can play for 10 or 20 minutes anytime you have a bit of free time. I suppose that means its downside is that it has no depth. Well, on this PC version you can play missions and play across the internet. I've not tried this - I just want a quick few minutes of play here and there when I need a break. Nothing fancy, just easy and fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Doesn't launch on Windows 10... Plenty forums out there dealing with compatibility with earlier Windows versions too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
It's okay. Not like the Playstation version I played years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Had lost my own copy of this game years ago and decided to order a new one since I love the game. Nothing to complain about!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
A super fun and simple game! Arrived faster than expected!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2006
For those unfamiliar with the concept, Worms World Party features teams of between 2 and 6 worms, fighting against each other with various weapons such as shotguns, bazookas, dynamites and cluster bombs. In this incarnation there are also some outlandish weapons, such as Armageddons (introduced in WWP's predecessor, Worms Armageddon) and the Concrete Donkey. Worms can also be blown off objects such as mines and oil drums. Graphics are cartoony and while they aren't full of high-resolution fancy visuals, they suit the game very well.

The gameplay has the old-fashioned addictiveness that was common in older games and is rare in modern games- the gameplay is simple but very fun.

As of 2006, the 3D incarnations have failed to capture the simplicity and fun of the 2D incarnations and feature a more limited range of weapons. Although Worms World Party received relatively average reviews due to it not being much of an advance over Worms Armageddon, nowadays it's available for much the same (very low) price, and so in my opinion it is the best version of the game to get. Most games decline in appeal as they become old, but with its emphasis on gameplay over looks, WWP remains a timeless classic.

EDIT as of 2012: The third comment to my review makes a good point- Worms World Party isn't supported or patched anywhere near as much as Worms Armageddon and is fiendishly hard to get working on any version of Windows from Vista onwards. Armageddon is basically World Party minus a few minor tweaks, so as of 2012 you may well be better off getting that instead.
44 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
Best iteration of worms I've played by a long shot! A ton of modes, loads of team customisation and worm voices, the best and most weapons (Concrete Donkey's first appearence, I believe) and hours of laffs. I was looking through the disc and found a mission builder too, which surprisingly isn't too difficult to use. It's hard to write a beautifully flowing review about the understated beauty of this game (because there is none) but if you want to blow up things whilst speaking like James Brown this is the place to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2007
Having owned one of the prequels to this game, Worms 2, I had a reasonable idea of what to expect. Whilst it was still in my mind on whether to buy it or not though, I decided to search the Team17 website for maybe a demo to try out the game, which I found. This demo really encouraged me to go out and but the full version of the game. The graphics (for a 2D game) are the best you are going to get. There is also a much more extensive range of weaponry, game modes, and an extra utility boxes including jetpacks. My favourite weapon on the whole game, although it is very rare, is the Concrete Donkey.
Team17 have done themselves proud with this game. Pity they had to spoil it by releasing some 3D games
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£37.92

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)