Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2010
Classic is what sums this up - it is the trimming knife that everyone thinks of. It doesn't have any fancy features, but it is a simple, well balanced tool with no real drawbacks. There are cheaper knives out there but in my experience they represent poor value - they don't hold the blade rigidly, the blade retracts under pressure, or it is simply uncomfortable in use. Often a true quality is when there is nothing to say - this knife simply does what you want without any such fuss.

Only four stars though, since the casting on my last couple of these knives has not been quite as good as in days gone by, with a little moulding flash where the two halves of the mould meet. In once case it was enough to actually need a little filing off, since it caused an uncomfortable ridge around the grip area. Not a big deal but something that shouldn't need doing.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Bought this for £2.50 from Amazon as had lost my original. As soon as this one was dispatched the law of sods ensured that my old - 25 + year one turned up!

At least I can compare the 2 and have taken some pics to show the difference between the old and new one.


* Made in England
* Very easy and simple blade fitment mechanism
* Blade extender switch is very smooth
* Weight - 173 Grams


* Made in China
* More fiddly blade fitment but still easy enough
* Blade extender switch is "notchy" and not smooth
* Weight - 146 Grams

These are still very decent knives and are much better than most "snap off bladed" ones. You can put decent pressure down i.e. cutting carpet etc.

The blades fit the old one so I don't think their size has changed.

Couple of negatives on this new version.
It is cheaply made and although cheap on here it wouldn't be in a store.
Also I think that it is pretty tight only supplying 3 blades when 5 would easily fit in the handle.

Still, they are great classic knives - just not as well made as they used to be. If you can find one at a car boot get an old school one!

review image review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
this is a classic from stanley. the knife is not of fancy design, it's well made, spare blades can be stored in the handle. the ideal knife for cutting carpet and useful when needed for other cutting jobs around the home. a good knife at a reasonable price .
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Not the quality of the stolen one, 1970's. Bought item faulty, screw cross threaded so unable to remove cardboard nor rig blade. Contacted seller who tried to tell me I was an idiot and to force the screw open, which was impossible. He sent replacement saying he would check it personally as it had never happened before (tell me the old, old story) but I never heard from him despite contact. I won't use this seller again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought one of these Stanley 99E Stanley Knives after having used a similar version for years/decades. Despite the metal construction of this latest iteration the blade carrier and ratchet mechanism seems really flimsy - a far cry from earlier versions. However, to be fair, the knife is serviceable, easy to hold and safe, it's just that it doesn't reassure you of its longevity as previous versions did. Also, you still get three spare blades in the handle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
So much better than the cheap snap off knife I had before. I'd always avoided Stanley knives like the plague, as I didn't like the fixed blades - not very safe in my opinion. But now the blades are retractable, they are perfect. A really well made, and well designed product. I highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
I lost my original Stanley knife some time ago - it was bought in the 70s. This one works on the same basic principle, but I found it quite awkward to assemble, unlike my original which just fell together. With this one I started to look to see if I was doing something wrong. However once done it works fine - comes with 3 blades as per description. One star deducted for the awkwardness - some people might find it quite tricky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
Very good knife, after an initial 20 mins not being able to load the first blade. Some better instructions would be fabulous. However, the knife is great quality and works perfectly. Love the extra blades in the storage compartment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Strong and durable knife, made with good quality metal and built to last. There are 3 blades supplied with this knife, they are stored inside the knife and the knife needs to be unscrewed to get to the blades and fit one. I found this knife very sharp and was able to cut carpet easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Good but lost two stars because the handle comes apart in two separate pieces when changing the blade and it took forever to put them back together. My old one used to open but had a hinge, so you didn't have to line up the two halves to fit them back together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)