Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 9 October 2012
I'm a huge fan of Scott Pilgrim. I'd borrowed the books from a friend of mine to read and fell in love with them, so decided to buy my own set. What better than this collection of all six?
In some ways nothing could be better. You're getting six funny, characterful, and often touching graphic novels that are easy to enjoy, especially if you're a fan of nerd culture. The books are drawn in a simple black and white style, quite reminiscent of manga, but with a distinct style of their own.
Unfortunately this isn't exactly the ultimate set for collectors I was hoping it might be. Yes, you do get all the books, but you don't get any kind of case or similar to keep them in, and unfortunately they weren't all from the same print. Volume 2-6 are in the style seen in the picture in the product description, while Volume 1 is the version released alongside the film, with the cover resembling the promotional posters for the film. This may only be true from the seller I bought from (the-books-warehouse), if you want to ensure you get all the books in the same style, it might be worth considering buying them separately.
Other than that, I am very happy with the product, and shall look forward to rereading the books yet again.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
I could go into details, which perhaps only other comic book fans would understand, but the thing about Scott Pilgrim is that it's for everything.

The recurring themes of relationships, where-is-my-life-going, rivalry, being an idiot... these are things most of us can relate to, and O'Malley weaves them into a compelling story which moves at a good but realistic pace, while mixing in excellent geek humour and the kind of artwork which screams 'I may not be Alex Ross, but this is perfect for the story'. And it is.

Not the same as the film, the comic goes much deeper. That said, I did thoroughly enjoy the film as well.

Read it.

Now.

Seriously.

Are you reading it yet?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
I think this is a great buy for all six books, my son loves them something he will read over and over again..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
More.

That's the word you'll read here. More material, more background story, more funny. If you liked the film, this is going to blow your socks off. Guaranteed
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
I bought this book set for my son for Christmas. He loved them and by 27 December he had read them all!! They came with a poster which he was pleased with. If you or someone you know are into graphic novels then these are a winner!
44 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
Scott Pilgrim really is a breath of fresh air for the comic World. By far the best comic series I've read in a long time and I was gripped from start to finish. I managed to read all 6 books in about 3 days and will certainly be reading them again. The story is great and it's very funny at times. If you're thinking of buying these books but are still undecided, DO IT! You won't regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
Easily one of the best comics I've ever read.
The boxed set looks good on the shelve as well, and the quality of the books are really good, event though it's paperback.

Highly recommended for yourself or as a gift.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
These graphic novels are awesome for anyone who was a fan of the film before this gives you more insight to every character and more into the story as a whole, you start to admire what an amazing job Edgar Wright did in bringing this film to life as well and staying true to the novels but adding his own part to it as well. Price is really good considering on each book its meant to be £8. Anyone who is expecting colour these arent for you, but the drawings are amazing none the less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
My first encounter with the Scott Pilgrim series was from the film. And now a year and a half later, it continues to be one of my favourite films. So I set out to read the books, which naturally lead me to the item in question - and it was worth ever penny. Not only does it contain all of the books in a awesome looking holder, but the poster included is pretty cool as well.

For the uninitiated, the books are as good as you have heard they are, if not better. The books surpass the film in all ways: events are explained in better detail; there are many scenes and exchanges between characters left out of the film; and from the 4th book onwards, the book ends slightly differently from the film.

The only downside is that it is a little tricky fitting the books back into the holder once you take them out, but I gather this is an item more for collectors than people who want to read the books. Either way, this is great purchase for any Scott Pilgrim fan. If you're new to the series, or just saw them film: pick up the books and find out what you are missing out on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Finished the books with in a day. Gets you hooked straight away. Better than the film and the graphics are amazing. Great story line!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse