Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 January 2013
The view from the accounts department of the World's Greatest Club (IMHO) is quite unique. Good to get a view of the personalities and the day to day running of a football club across several decades. Easy to read and hard to put down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
I didn't quite know what to expect from this memoir - I suppose I half feared page after page of arcane accountancy issues - but I loved it. I was surprised how many new and unfamiliar things were in here: for example, a fascinating account of how a transfer deal develops from start to finish behind the scenes, a great story about the author's time with Bill Shankly, some insights into the various managers, an interesting summary of the software the club used to use to assess potential new players, some intriguing observations about how the club used some of its earliest sponsors to modernise its commercial and technical set-up, and some sobering stories about the awful era of Hicks and Gillett. On top of this there are some vivid and illuminating stories about how the highs and lows of LFC during the past few decades were seen by someone on the inside. A really worthwhile read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Brilliant. Not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
A very good read.Don't have to support any team to enjoy but a Liverpool fan will know a lot of the names past and present.Written from the heart I highly recommend it,make a super Christmas present!!

Very good service from Amazon would always recommend them.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
Got to be the best sports book I have ever read Funny, interesting and absorbing. Not your typical football autobiography by an ex player or manager. Fully recommend.

Just read another review which is a little critical because it doesn't "dish the dirt". Anyone can " dish the dirt". The best books don't need to stoop so low, and this book is absolutely absorbing and fascinating without needing to slur people. Brilliant!

It is not just about the accountancy background that the joint author has experienced, but the book gives a very interestesting description on how this famous club was run. With some really interesting and funny stories as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Easy book to read, and I learned quite a lot about footballers and the how the backroom works. Also show the changes at Anfield which have been to the detriment of the club, but they changes were done as progression and improvements, pity we could have kept the atmosphere in the club as well. e.g. when they moved everything to do with the players to Melwood it separated the Admin staff from the players. The players used to know everyone from the CEO to the domestic staff. suppose a reflection on like how we are all becoming separated
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
A must read for all reds fans. Arthur Lowe gives his personal view of what it was like working closely with the many great managers at lfc; younger fans will find it really interesting to hear what made shanks, paisley, fagan, daglish etc the great managers they were. His accounts of some of the biggest games are brilliant. Heart wrenching account of Hillsborough. Great to read an in depth and inside view on how money has changed the wonderful game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Very interesting book from a new perspective, a must read for all Liverpool fans. This guy saw a vast change in the club through the years and has a story to tell :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
This is a must read for any red wanting an insight into a fantastic era of Liverpool. Written with great humility and genuine love for the club .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Found this a fantastic and interesting read.Helped me relive the good memories of Lfc at their best.A must read for any Liverpool fan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)