Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 June 2014
I bought the ebook version and found this book full of insightful experiences by the author to demonstrate how we should not be thinking things through to much. We all spend our time analysing everything when we should learn to judge and pay attention our instinct and first impressions instead of dismissing them.

Some very interesting examples to get you thinking about the 'blink' reaction from different areas of the authors life and experiences. It has certainly made me think and I've found myself trusting my first thoughts more often without having to re-think things which alter our perceptions through over thinking. I've found myself googling many of the experients and tests he mentions in order rewatch them as many examples featured in a leadership workshop I went to.

Definitely worth a read to expand the way we think.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2014
This was recommended by Patricia McConnell in one of her books on dog psychology so I thought I would take a look. I found the start interesting and it does have some thought provoking moments but isn't full of earth shattering revelations or much beyond what you could figure out for yourself. There aren't any real explanations of why we do wat we do and sometimes I find the diisection of situations rather confusing and jumbled as though the ideas haven't quite come to fruition. I'm not sure I wholly agree with some of the assertions, some are a bit sketchy and I don't find I'm gaining any insight into my own behaviour that would be of any help to me in future decision making. Quite interesting but not hugely exciting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
Only just finished this book, so will "thin slice" it very briefly here.

In essence not a bad holiday read or just to pass a few hours with, but as many other reviews have stated just doesn't deliver anything new or have any lasting profound insights. The basis of the bulk of the book is a series of duller and progressively tedious factual examples of how the human mind can make snap decisions rather than collate a huge amount of data before doing so - the type of facts a professor at a seventies psychology seminar would recite to a group of star - struck doe - eyed students. One of the main faults is that we never seem to get any progression throughout the book, so the whole effect is like listening to a CD which keeps jumping on the same track.

I like Malcolm Gladwell and usually like his writings, but all I can see in this work is a very wafer thin bit of theory spun out for an entire book. All the author has come up with is if you have an immense prior knowledge of a subject you can then short - cut to the essence of a given problem or situation. This is hardly the stuff of cutting edge thinking. It is obvious that a man who has thousands of hours under his belt in the art world might easily be said to be able to spot a fake, or a hard bitten military commander will be able to out - smart a geek straight out of military college. But then again the mind can play tricks and mistake can be made using the same theory - again nothing to get excited about.

As with many of these pseudo - science/psychology books, they start of with a bang and end up by p38 being left unread on the sideboard. In a final irony to Mr Gladwell's book I used my own gut reaction when considering this work and just came up with 2 stars - 1 for the writing, 1 for the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2013
Malcolm Gladwell is a compelling writer,Blink: The Power of Thinking Without ThinkingBlink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking using a tried and tested technique: a parable. You tell a human interest story and learn from it along the way. The problem with this book is that it faces in two directions simultaneously. One direction is encouraging us to trust instinct, while the other is pointing that that instinct can be misleading. Well, Malcolm, which is it? I tend to feel it could be both. but a chapter helping us understand how to temper instinct with reflection would have been handy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
This was the second Gladwell book I read. The arguments are a little more subtle than Outliers, but just as compelling. People have said that he labours the point in this book. I disagree - in fact, he presents both the positive and negative aspects of instinctive decision making (almost) equally. As a result, we’re left wondering when the right time is to trust our intuition. This question is answered in the last chapter and afterword, which ties together the preceding anecdotes neatly. Worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2016
An interesting book. Gladwell makes a compelling case for 'thin-slicing', more or less acting on professional instinct rather than following the contemporary wisdom of absorbing as much information as possible, when making certain decisions, but not others. Various anecdotes are operationalized in support of this, from judging the life-expectancy of a marriage to large scale war games, each of which are engaging and insightful in their own right.I knocked a star off because, as others, I found the book a little disjointed and the conclusion slightly weak, but that did not damped my enjoyment overall. I would recommend the book to anyone interested in influences behind decision-making behavior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2014
This was the first book I have read from Malcolm Gladwell.

While it is an interesting and entertaining book, by the end of it I could not help but think it would have been better if "Blink" would have been published as an essay/ article in a magazine. While I do not expect (and do not want to read) an in-depth review on the topic "Blink" is dealing with, a bit more depth would have done the book a great favour.

I will, however, read some of his other books ("The Tipping Point" and "Outliers") as well, as Malcolm Gladwell clearly is a good writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2016
Interesting concept as always with Malcolm Gladwell. Deconstructing what some of us do naturally - blink decisions and whether they are good/bad. At times he uses very big words so thankfully on Kindle I can check the dictionary.

Good book for all the thinkers and those who can never make a decision or take too long to take a decision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2018
After listening to Malcolm Gladwell’s revisionist history podcast, I was intrigued by his books. This is fascinating, and relatable; a great book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2013
Here it is a fine example of how a smart idea and big marketing support can turn a mediocre book in a publishing success.

The aim of this work is to analyze how we are able to take decisions on the spot ("in a blink") and how choices made in this way can prove more accurate than those taken after a lengthy process.

The book, however, falls short in what, according to its preface, are its stated objectives. It folds out as a lengthy list of anecdotes, with no structure to hold them together.
There is neither a clear description of how instantaneous decisions are taken (except a fuzzy reference to "thin slicing") nor an explanation of when "blink thinking" makes sense that goes beyond the obvious (contexts with high complexity and limited time for decisions).

Some of the stories and evidences quoted are actually interesting, but are not used to elaborate a robust argument and seem to have limited reference to the scope of the book.

So, in a nutshell, very disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse