Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
888
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2017
Having seen the movie recently I thought I'd like to read the book as well and I'm so glad I did. I've never read Susan Hill before, but will now be adding more of her books to my Kindle with great anticipation.
Ms Hill writes beautifully with such a skilled, smooth hand that I was effortlessly drawn into the scenes of the places she describes and into the lives and feelings of the characters she's created.
The ending is quite different to that of the film and I really have no idea why it was changed as the author's version is so much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
Book was in mint condition and arrived really quickly. After seeing the film and the show at the theatre I wanted to read the book. Although hard to get into, it's a creepy story and really well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
Good suspence well written ghost story. Enjoyed this book although aimed at a much younger audience I still found it gripping and hard to put down from the start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Best read before bed, preferably with a dim light. It's the kind of book that is tense and creepy as you read it, but the real horror comes when you are lying in bed at night and you remember the description of the soft thumping noise coming from a locked room, and you start to think you can hear a bang coming from downstairs...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Excellent, super creepy- my first serious introduction to literary horror (by literary I mean well written, rather than disappearing down its own rabbit holes)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
I loved the film and I thought I will read the book. And it's great. I definitely recommend it to horror lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
This was a gift to someone who I KNOW will enjoy it. Cracking story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Daughter loved this book, some 'old' English in it had to explain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
The product has been stored very well. Correctly described, well packaged and arrived before the estimated delivery date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
I've known of this story for years I've seen adaptations on TV and I've seen the stage play.Nothing compares to the book,it's brilliantly written,I could not put it down it has everything a Ghost story needs and more,highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse