Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 August 2017
Authentic, at times savage description of this most brutal war. The first mechanised slaughter of war. Credit the author with writing an account as if he had experienced the horrors of combat. Not much in the way of fruitless heroism , just gritty realism and a grim acceptance of their fate. The real heroes are there in the Commonwealth war cemeteries or are recorded on the memorials from Ypres to the Somme to Galliopli and on to Mesopotamia. An excellent read, well done author , fine effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
Found this story a moving record of an everyday guy who did what he saw as his basic duty in a terrible war and this serves as a fitting tribute to those who fought in such a brave manner and largely went unrecognised . we should not forget them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2014
As this is essentially a diary there is little comment with the benefit of hindsight from a Historian or other modern academic. As such it gives an interesting insight to how Davis thought and what must have motivated him and his many contemporaries.

Instead of being told what men like Davis thought or did here is one whose experiences are put down on paper. The fact the YMCA and tea(!) is mentioned a lot is just part of Davis life, so he mentions them.

I'd recommend anyone interested in the history of the First World War to read it as it puts things in the context of the times which modern histories sometimes don't.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2017
A great historic account. I hadn't realised the popularity of the YMCA and the good works they achieved during the Great war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2017
Interesting portrait of the turmoil young soldiers want through in world war 1 but could have been so much better !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2017
What a wondrful view on ww1 by a lovley man with the task of defending his country the only thing on his mind. Such a meek man and a truely eye opening take on this awful time in history. Loved reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2017
This book was of interest to me because of the personal nature of the narrative. I really enjoyed it, but it is both sad and necessary to understand this war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2017
A short but detailed report of one man's time at the front during trench warfare. An interesting if short read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2014
I couldn't quite make it to 4 stars, but it was a close run thing. What I would like to know is when this was put together? I've read one or two WW1 books recently and have prefered the others which is what held me back from marking this up. Well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2017
Husband enjoy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)