Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2005
My last vacuum was a dyson DC07. I think I bought in to their "root-cyclone" scientific spiel but I have to say I was increasingly disappointed with it. It was heavy and yet flimsy and its cleaning power was average at best.

I bought this machine on the basis of other reviews and I have to say I am extremely impressed. It's a gorgeous looking beast. OK, it's noisy - it sounds like a rhino with bronchitis. But that's a small price to pay for the incredible suction power. All I can say is make sure you used strong glue when you laid your carpets!

Once that motorised brush gets whirring round you will be thrilled to watch the fluff and dust shooting into the clear container. The container is small and fills up quickly but thats a minor incovenience as its so ridiculously easy to empty.

I haven't used it as a detachable cylinder cleaner yet but its worth the price for the upright function alone.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2005
I bought this cleaner as I detest Dyson and wanted to compare the 2. I just can't make up my mind. I love my Henry but for some reason whenever I clean my house I want to use this. It has incredible suction power but it's a pain in the arse - it's so bulky and pretty noisey but yet I still keep swtiching back to my Bissel rather than using my Henry or my Sebo x1.1(best vacuum ever). I just can't make up my mind. However, the lift off bit in the middle is perfect for my car and makes it look so much cleaner (great if you give a girl a "lift home"). This cleaner is desinged to make vacuuming easier. It's so quick to use and does such a bang up job that ever a quick whip round looks like a full afternoon's cleaning. On the whole, this cleaner is good. A tad heavy, but has incredible suction. Better than a Dyson anyday.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
Having used an old DC07 for a good many years we were nervous about changing to a new manufacturer. But having now taken the step into the unknown what a revelation it has been. The Bissell has been superb, as mentioned by other customers the chamber can fill up quite quickly but it's a small price to pay for such an efficient machine. Ours was supplied through Amazon from Empire Direct who were very efficient. So no complaints from us - get one and see the difference for yourself.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
What a simple, yet great idea. It's a bit on the heavy side if you have to heave it around. Nontheless in the upright position it is surprisingly lightweight and very easy to use, especially once the rotating brush is placed into action. The detachable upright cylinder (I stress "upright" since it only works in this position) is easy to carry, great for getting the kids to help vacuum clean. Only gripe is the small dirt container (maybe it just cleans too well for it's own good), but having said that it's a doddle to clean.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2005
cleaned the living room carpet with my neighbour's dyson, then immediatly cleaned it again with the bissell. was very surprised (and pleased) to see the bissell collect even more dirt! plus it's a gorgeous deep metallic red colour (front only, back is black).
only gripes are the lack of anywhere on the cleaner to store the stair attachment and the small dirt box.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2006
My wife has always swore that nothing would beat a Dyson, but after using the Bissell for a few weeks she has admitted that the Dyson is nowhere near as good as this little beauty. The ease of use when emptying the dirt container is simplicity itself, as is the lift off cylinder. The only downside we can find is that it is a little heavy, but having said that it's a small price to pay for such a powerfull vacuum cleaner. Oh and by the way the interior of my car has never been cleaner after using the lift off cylinder. Buy it today, you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
We have had the Bissell life off for 2 years now,what atracted us was the fact you can take out the motor part to do cars , the stairs or awkward to get to places ,its the best of both worlds particularly as my husband and I couldnt agree on cylinder or upright.Our household consists of 2 adults 4 boys ,2 cats and 2 giant hairy dogs ,quite a challenge .As long as you are scrupulous about cleaning all the filters this vacuum cleaner never falters on suction and today works as well as when we bought it two years ago.
We have had all the top range bagless in the past and none lasted beyond 18 months with our dogs ,this just goes on and on .Well done Bissell.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
A brilliant idea - the lift off cylinder! Cleaning the stairs has never been easier. My only problem with it is the cylinder, which fills up very quickly (or maybe I have very dirty floors!!) and consequently has to be emptied on a regular basis. However, overall a good machine and much cheaper than a Dyson!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2006
I bought this from Amazon because it said it has duel edge cleaning (which works fine) and because of the lift-off function, which I thought would be ideal for vacuuming my 3 sets of stairs. The latter is a good idea in principle, but the attachments completely lack any power at all for picking up bits from the stair carpets. It desperately needs a turbo head attachment. I had bought a Dirt Devil some time ago to do the stairs and have gone back to using it - it is FAR superior than the Bissell, despite costing only £20. In addition to this, the Bissell is very heavy and I am in the process of having to send it back because the filter on the back 'blows off' when the cleaner is switched on and you lose suction (PS - emailed Bissell but heard nothing back!). On a positive note, it is incredibly east to empty the dust box - a good job, because it fills up quickly. All in all, this vacuum cleaner is a good idea in principle but does not stand up to being used for the purpose for which it was intended.
PS - Since first writing this review I have had to stop using the machine because the noise has become unbearable - I have tested it with a decibel meter and it starts off at 110 dB and the scream increases with use. The last time I used it to vacuum the whole house my ears took an hour or two to recover - the noise is of a level to cause damage to your ears. Also, it blows out a lot of dust whenever it is statred up. I don't know how people can give it a 5* rating - just its heavy weight alone should exclude it from that!
22 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
This is a great vac with powerful suction and a selection of useful tools. The removal cylinder is genius although it's pretty heavy and gives off a serious amount of heat, not great in summer but then again we don't get them anymore so go out and buy one. At this price it's a steal
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)