Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 2 January 2014
If memory serves this album originally came out in December 1971 on Vertigo. It was destined to sink without trace at the time, although in the years since it's taken on the kind of odd cachet which has ensured its reissue at least four times in the last twenty years (on the Angel Air, Arkarna, Background, and Repertoire labels) Given the obviously limited amount of material, in the sense that none of the reissues offers any bonus tracks or the like, for me the Repertoire is the one to go for mainly because it's in one of those miniature LP sleeves -nice.........gatefold too.........

Hoyle had a hell of a band behind her, virtually the whole of Nucleus in fact, and in Karl Jenkins before he went into cod-Classical mode she had a good musical foil for her lyrics. There's a range of material here, ranging from the hard rocking "Black Crow" (Hoyle/Jenkins) to Laura Nyro's "Lonely Women" which receives a treatment even better than the original. Performed by just voice and piano, the implied starkness brings out the structure and deeply touching nature of the song in a way that a fussy arrangement would only mask.

"Journey's End" has a singular lilt, punctuated by Chris Spedding's deft guitar interjections and a French horn break which lifts the spirit, or at least my spirit.

It's not difficult to see why Hoyle / Jenkins made Dionne Warwick an offer of the song "Paper Tulips" for even while Hoyle retains her own identity it's easy to imagine Warwick getting her voice around it.

"Hymn to Valerie Solanas" highlights Hoyle's awareness of the issues of the day through her obvious knowledge of the woman who attacked Warhol and specialized in a trenchant brand of feminism.

All in all this is a really diverse album, complete with any implications of a `lack of a direction' some might accordingly read into it. I'm not one of them, however, because I think this is an album which was out of its time at the time, and for all the `progress' that might have been made in popular culture, the attitudes of the time etc. Things are different now, and how, but this is one of those `records' which will inevitably `touch' or reach someone somewhere, so in its unassuming way it's stood that test of time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
£9.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime