Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 March 2010
Apparently, someone told Sammy that an acronym of "For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge" was the true origin of the four-letter word. That aside, it`s a really poor title; even I would have to admit that if VH have a weakness, it is their album titles (apart from their third and fourth albums). I remember buying this on the day of release, after months of fevered, teenage anticipation. In those days you had to wait, no websites around with stolen excerpts to give you any idea what would be coming; although the album opener "Poundcake" was released as a single beforehand and that was more than enough to keep me very interested.

That is a cracking opener; Eddie uses a drill for chrissakes! Near his then-new Peavey Wolfgang! Sammy`s words work better on this album than any other with VH...maybe he was more settled by this album? But they did take a while over this release, so maybe the other band members had a chance to throw out his first batch of pure cheese and he came back with something a bit more grown-up. Some of the songs, like "Judgement Day" and "Pleasure Dome" are lyrically interesting, almost deep, and Eddie explores some new ideas and tricks too, along with the magnificence that we would expect from probably the greatest living guitarist. There are a couple of real clunkers, stinkers even, like "In `N` Out", and "Spanked" (which would make my top three of bad VH songs - there are only about five poor songs on all the records put together, after all), but there`s enough to compensate elsewhere. "Spanked" truly is horrid though.

My favourites are obviously "Poundcake", but "The Dream Is Over" and "Top Of The World" (which picks up the riff that ends the DLR-era classic "Jump") are great feel-good songs. "Right Now" has been overplayed but it`s dramatic stuff and instead of a synth, it`s a real piano that stars. Eddie had been noodling around with "316" for a while before he gave it a title (son Wolfgang`s birthday, March 16th) and it`s lovely.

All in all a very good record, heavier than the two preceding releases, and there are signs of the seriousness which really showed its face on the follow-up album, "Balance".
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars