Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn more Learn more Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 28 March 2005
As a film it didn't really work. And as an album even less so. For at least in the film there is some kind of point in reworking old songs, although a pretty tenuous one it must be said. But at least 'Eleanor's Dream' is atmospheric on film and in some other cases we get to see Paul perform the songs. But on record, the remakings of 'Here There And Everywhere' , 'Yesterday', 'Good Day Sunshine' and 'Eleanor Rigby' are thoroughly pointless and vastly inferior to the 1960s originals. There is a case for arguing a case of writer's block on the part of McCartney circa 1984. There are also re-writes of 'So Bad', ' Ballroom Dancing' and 'Silly Love Songs' from the solo years. Why? And of the new songs, only the superb 'No More Lonely Nights' is up to any kind of scratch. It is utterly brilliant. But one song cannot carry an album unfortunately. The two new rockers 'No Values' and 'Not Such A Bad Boy' sound like Back To The Egg rejects. The former was apparently from a dream Paul had in which The Stones performed this song. Well I can't speak for Mick and Keith but I rather think this would not have warranted a place on their album from this period 'Undercover' (1983), so utterly bland is the lyric and melody and tempo. I'm not saying that these tracks are dire, just that they are so lacking in any inspiration. And we have become accustomed to at least expect some of that with McCartney's work. The reworked disco version of 'No More Lonely Nights' is perhaps the most annoying thing he has ever released.
This is a fan speaking. Who hated all those turkey jibes which surrounded the release of this film. At least as a film it may one day have its day, in the way that 'Mystery Tour' has had. I doubt it. But as for the album, it will remain at the rock bottom of all McCartney's solo releases. It has neither the bravery or daring of a misjudged solo album nor the coverage or best versions to warrant classification as a compilation album. It a thoroughly mixed up version of both, with very little to recommend it I am afraid. Aside from one stupendous track, which can be found elsewhere.
5 people found this helpful
|22 Comments|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.3 out of 5 stars