Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 15 March 2011
As it is sometimes difficult to find the Science Fiction and Broken Shadows albums on either vinyl or as a CD, it is nice to have this double CD which contains both. CD1 has the eight tunes from the LP in the original order, plus four additional tracks. Two of those are recordings that are on the original Broken Shadows LP, one is an alternative take on Street Woman, and the final one is a different mix of Civilisation Day. CD2 contains the tracks from Broken Shadows, minus School Work and Country Town Blues, which are on CD1 as bonus tracks. CD2 also has a bonus track, previously unreleased.

Science Fiction has always been my favourite Ornette Coleman album, and this release does not disappoint; the sound is fine and in line with the vinyl release. That there is some fantastic playing goes without saying; many of the musicians had played together for a long time when this was recorded. Varied and stimulating, the tunes sound as fresh as when the album came out in 1972. CD2 is also great - four of the tunes were recorded at the same session as the Science Fiction - sharing with CD1 the range from beautiful to excitingly complex.

The main players with Ornette are Charlie Haden on bass, Ed Blackwell and Billy Higgins on drums, Don Cherry and Bobby Bradford on trumpet, and Dewey Redman on tenor sax.

Buy with confidence.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
£43.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime