Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 22 March 2006
Young bloods gives you a view of how Wellington and Napoleon grew up, what events influenced and molded them into the 2 of the greatest generals of our time.

The story begins with the 2 protagonists at a very young age simply being young children, even though they live worlds apart some very similar events cause them to settle onto a collision course at Waterloo. We all know what happens at that fateful meeting, but very few of know how they got there, the horror and heartrending decisions that they made/had imposed upon them to create the cool calculation generals that history remembers.

Simon weaves the story masterly, taking you from rural Corsica to central London/Ireland with ease and you never find yourself thinking how did I end up here. You really get a sense of watching the events unfold in front of you and you root for them equally, wiling them on to succeed, and feeling the emotions well up when things go wrong.

For readers of Simon's Eagle series, this is a different look at a different era, and shows us that the author can cross the classes and the centuries with ease. Everyone has read the excellent Sharpe books from Bernard Cornwell, because this is set in the same time line, you'll recognise many locations and events over the series that will remind you of the Sharpe books particularly the early ones from India and the siege of Seringapatum and onto waterloo, over the series.

Young Bloods is the first in series of 4 books, and knowing what i know of the exploits of these 2 generals we've got plenty of great reading ahead of us from a master story teller.
Highly Recommnended!!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.