Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 5 April 2003
After much anticipation A-ha finally release a live CD. This brings back so many memories of their live performances over the years. From the stunning concert opener on the Lifelines tour, and also the opener on this CD, "Forever Not Yours" it is clear that A-ha have taken time to put their heart and soul into this live set. Crystal clear sound, stunning performances and fantastic crowd interaction into the bargain. The last studio album "Lifelines" was a fantastically well produced piece of music with some stunning songs and a lot of studio work and effects, but would this translate well to the live stage ?
This live set provides a fantastic introduction to the catalogue of A-ha with a great mix of older classics, some with a twist,just TRY to deny yourself the experience of the new acoustic version of "Stay On These Roads", and the newer songs like the haunting version of "Minor Earth Major Sky" which comes into it's own in this live version. "Did Anyone Approach You" is a real crowd pleaser and from the way the band performed on this, those that were there the night that this perfomance was recorded were truely blessed with A-ha firing on overdrive and giving it all that they had. However, the real surprise is how the newer material from the last 2 albums fits in so well with the older stuff. One really good example of this is the live version of "Lifelines" slotted in after a rather stunning version of "The Swing Of Things" and the afore mentioned "Stay On These Roads". The classics such as "Take On Me", " Hunting High And Low" and the stunning "Manhattan Skyline" all feel brand new in these new live versions from the Lifelines tour and how could you forget the extended version of " The Sun Always Shines On TV". Even "The Living Daylights" sounds great with the audience singing in key and bouncing along merrily. The exclusion of the live version of "Blood That Moves The Body" is about the only thing I could find at fault about this CD, is that just me being picky ? Perhaps that may be the case, but as a veteran of over 60 live shows with A-ha over the years I would like to think that I have been able to gain an objective viewpoint of the live performance that these guys are able to give on the live stage. In short, lie back, turn up the volume, and prove that "You Can't Sleep With The Sound Of Morten, Magne And Paul In Your Head."
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.