Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 2 May 2006
This was pianist Thelonious Monk's first album for the Columbia label; it was made between October 31st and November 6th in '62. 'Body And Soul' and 'Just A Gigolo' are unaccompanied piano solos by Monk. The remainder of the tracks feature him in a quartet with Charlie Rouse (tenor sax), John Ore (bass) and Frankie Dunlop (drums). Rouse sounds a bit relentless at times, but never quite monotonous. Dunlop's bouncy drumming is a joy to listen to, and Monk himself is on good quirky form. These are studio recordings, the sound quality is excellent and the playing time is 73 minutes. A very attractive item - bewitching even.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
£7.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime