Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 12 July 2011
I really like Theory of a Deadman. Or at least I liked their early material. For this, their fourth studio album is nothing short of being very average.
Gone are the raw hitting sounds of their debut record, replaced with softer, catchier songs with some very cheesy lyrics in places.

Lead single "Lowlife" is a prime example, easily the bands worst single and not a patch on previous songs like "So Happy" or "Nothing Could Come Between Us."
"Bitch Came Back" and "The Truth Is...I Lied About Everything" are equally as awful, (although I will admit to raising a smile to the lyrics of the latter) before a couple of nice ballads show up, "Head Above Water" and "Easy To Love You." Again though nothing comes close to matching their best ballad "Since You've Been Gone" from the "Gasoline" album.

I suppose the sound Theory have taken on this record was inevitable after the success of the song "Bad Girlfriend" from their last album. That song could fit in perfectly here and Theory have jumped on the commercial & mainstream bandwagon, it's music made for rock radio and I've got no doubt millions of teenagers will love it - the simple truth is though it's by far and away Theory's worst record.

Worth mentioning though is the hard hitting and excellent song "We Were Men," which deals with the consequences of war. It's a serious track with far better lyrics, definitely an album highlight.

Bonus track wise you get more a nice mix rockers and ballads, along with acoustic versions of the songs "Out Of My Head" and "Easy To Love You," the latter suiting the acoustic version rather nicely.

In summary then, this isn't a really bad record; it's just not a very good one either. Theory's best record (although commercially least successful) is their debut record released in 2002. Interesting then that their albums since have all become steadily worse, but at the same time have become more successful, especially in the US.
Fans of Nickelback or Hinder will find plenty to like here, but for the rest of us this record is best avoided.

2.5 stars
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
£14.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime