Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 16 September 2005
I first heard a crackly cassette with a copy of this album 13 years ago, and have wanted to listen to it again ever since, on buying it, I have not been disappointed. Think pink floyds the wall and you will not be far off, it hard to hold anything to David Gilmour and Roger Walters, but, this is very much in the same vain and 10 years its junior.
As a predecessor to prog rock, this is album is almost an rock opera, with some catch tunes. As the title suggests, there are some disturbing religious overtones, which on consideration do add to the atmosphere of the piece, but expect some strange looks if you play it out loud.
The album kicks of with the system a simple chant of 'we've found the system, to f* the system' before launching into the catchy rock piece Babylon, which is very upbeat raw guitar, which shows the musicians Greek roots. The album then reaches Loud, Loud, Loud, which is where the albums religious overtones kick in, followed by the excellent Four horsemen which is the song (along with the out of place ballad finally break) that made me recall and buy the album. It starts with a narration that leads into some natty guitar work.
We then go Greek again with the 'plunk plunk' of the lamb which would not be out of place in a greek restaurant, all be it a lively one. The Aegian sea is a fantastic piece of guitar music, which does draw comparisons to axe greats such as Gilmour in style, before we are back to pseudo-religious chanting again with seven bowls.
The album carries on with some great tunes, such as the rather funky novelty track the beast, guitar thrashings in do it and the battle of the locusts, some silly breaks like ofis, a too happy pop rock hic and nunc (here and now) and more of the same chanting the capture of the beast. The twenty minute penultimate track is a album meadly in the vain of atom heart mother. Before the excellent ballad break.
One other track to mention is the (infinity symbol) which is responsible for the album being banned (ultimately postponed for a year) due to a woman having an orgasm to the track aka Axle Rose's my world.
8 people found this helpful
|11 Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.3 out of 5 stars