Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 16 February 2014
Cast's 3rd album, Magic Hour was originally released in 1999. Despite reaching number 6 in the album charts the album fell away fairly quickly and never sold as well as the previous two. The musical climate was changing and Cast wasn't immune. This is such a shame as I think this is a fantastic album with superb production by Gil Norton. Overall, this album is just a nose in front of Mother Nature Calls for me (John Power shakes his head in disbelief!)

This issue is from Edsel (under licence from Universal) and comes in a robust hardback book style case, very smart and more durable than the standard fidgety Deluxe versions that Universal have recently issued. The full album and b-sides are here and all lyrics are included even for the b-sides which is a nice touch of detail. Even the various remixes of Beat Mama are included. A DVD is included containing a new interview with John Power, both promo videos and a solitary TOTP appearance. Like the previous release Disc 2 is filled with BBC sessions from 1999, already released on the Cast BBC Sessions CD. A cover of The Who's, The Seeker is here. This was originally released on the 2001 Substitute: Songs Of The Who tribute album and its good to tie it up as an extra. All Bright which was a cassette-only b-side (also a bonus track on the Japanese edition of the album) is also included.

The interviews for all 4 albums are great but by the time we get to Magic Hour, John is struggling to remember the tracks on the album. In fact the 2nd half of the album doesn't get mentioned! I suppose this shows John doesn't have the same affinity with some of these songs as he does for the first 2 albums. For me that's a shame as I really love this album. Although if it were me being interviewed the next day for my album reissues I'd have read over the track-listing the night before, so at least I remembered the songs! You're so laid back John, but that's why we love yer.

A good release and hopefully the album will gain a few more fans from this reissue. Its uplifting sunshine music, highly recommended to anyone especially people have never been into the band.

P.S. Edsel, please send John Power a copy so he knows what songs are on it. Cheers!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.9 out of 5 stars
£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime