Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 December 2012
This little-known quartet album from pianist/composer Dave Brubeck(1920-2012) was recorded in June, 1964 and inspired by a tour of Japan a few months earlier.
With Brubeck on piano were altoist Paul Desmond, bassist Eugene Wright and drummer Joe Morello who'd been together since the late 1950s.
Brubeck's teacher, the composer Darius Milhaud, advised him to "travel the world and keep your ears open" which is evident on these 8 memorable Eastern-influenced tracks. Highlights include 'Fujiyama', 'Osaka Blues' & 'The City Is Crying' which features a beautiful alto solo from Paul Desmond.
Despite the short playing time of 35 minutes this is an intriguing and evocative album that deserves a place in any Dave Brubeck collection.
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.6 out of 5 stars
£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime