Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 17 June 2001
The book contains all of Brodsky's published poems in English. (All the ones that have appeared in books form). Based on the three titles of poetry published in English during his lifetime; "A Part of Speech", "To Urania" and "So Forth". In addition this collection includes a chapter of uncollected poems and translations by Brodsky of other poets works; about twenty poems. Amongst these are poems by Wislawa Szymborska, Osip Mandelstam and Marina Tsvetaeva.
The poems are written in English directly, or translated from Russian, either by the author himself or by Brodsky in collaboration with other translators.
It's a nice collection, but it offers little new if you already own the three prior books. One good exception is an extensive section of notes to the poems that are most informative. It is also worth mentioning that in the foreword of the book a second collection of poems is promised to be underway, this one containing poems translated from Russian outside of Brodsky's supervision.
21 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.3 out of 5 stars