Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

VINE VOICEon September 27, 2006
This is the third compilation from Oasis, following on from the "Familiar to Millions" live album and earlier "Masterplan" B-sides release. Those hoping for a traditional greatest hits collection this time round will be disappointed, "Stop The Clocks" is instead a selection of live favourites in studio form, so we get ten singles, four B-sides (all included on the earlier "Masterplan") and four album tracks (culled from the bands first two albums). Unfortunately this decision has seen no less than eleven hit singles jettisoned into pop-genius orbit like so much unwanted flotsam; "Shakermaker", "Whatever", "Roll With It", "D' Ya Know What I Mean", "Stand By Me", "All Around The World", "Little by Little" and "Stop Crying Your Heart Out" are no where to be found. How many bands could even consider dumping songs of this standard? Noel is on record as saying that he doesn't want to put out a true hits album until the band has run its course so you can understand the reasoning behind the approach but I have to query the actual selection; there is no doubting that every track here is an absolute peach but those fans who have the first two albums (surely everyone) will already have 10 of the 18 tracks included here. Perhaps I'm missing the point though; maybe this just presents a "way in" for those with only a passing interest in Oasis, or to those who were originally unwilling to be swept up in the - completely justified - hype first time around. If you're one of these people you are in for a treat; this is truly indispensable stuff, the songs here are full of life affirming lyrics, irresistible swagger and above all undeniable beauty. It's a great introduction to a band whose music will live on for generations. It'll send a shiver up your spine.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars