Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

VINE VOICEon December 23, 2007
alisons 4th album saw her return to the electronic pop sound she has so much success with yazoo and her first 2 albums.

after "hoodoo" with its indie influence its was great to see what the lady does best!

"falling" the first single just failed to hit the top 40 but i think after the hoodoo sound people had lost some interest! its a great pop track...maybe half hoodoo/half alf! its a great track but not the best on the album 8/10

"and i know" is similar to the the opener but much more pop oriented and immediate and could have been a single 9/10

"whispering your name" was the 2nd single helped into the charts by a great video with dawn french! its a strong pop track..the album version here is stripped down but still great 8/10

"getting into something" is sultry and sexy and is another great electonic pop track! the 3rd single and only reached no.51! 9/10

"so am i" is a great electro pop track with a slight 60s feel...9/10

"satellite" is a beautiful pop epic delivered with great force 9/10

"ode to boy" is a standout yazoo track given a guitar makeover..still amazing but nothing compares to the orginal 8/10

"dorothy" is a beautiful pop classic that would have sat very well on her 2nd album..similar to "weak in the presence of beauty" 9/10

"another living day" is another great pop track that would sit comfortably on the 2nd album 9/10

"boys own"is a rocking track aka the "hoodoo" album its ok but not amazing 7/10

"take of me" is stunning...during her yazoo albums/first two solo albums she immersed herself in some haunting tracks and this is one of them..simply amazing 10/10

"ode to boy 2" hard to differenciate between the two version..was the 4th single but only reached no.59..you cannot surpass the original 9/10

"whispering your name" is all pet shop boys...its great..its given a great desperation dance workover 10/10

after her first flawless work with yazoo and the amazing "alf" "raindancing" was a bit formulated..."hoodoo" a change of sound...this ranks up there with her best work yet..she sounds amazing..the songs are great!only the timeless "alf" surpasses this album!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars