Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 9 June 2011
The Monitors were considered to be one of the second string acts at Motown but there was nothing second rate about their performances. They may never have made the big time but they should have. As usual with Motown there was too much talent producing excellent recordings to give every act the proper recognition and promotion they deserved. So the Monitors slipped under the radar.

Tracks 1 - 12 are from the 'Greetings! We're The Monitors' album and include 'Since I Lost You Girl', 'Say You' & 'Time Is Passin' By' which are Motown classics that Motown doesn't even know are classics! 13 - 24 are all previously unissued tracks and are as good as anything from the original album. My favourites are 'It Only Happens When Love Is Gone' which I think would have been a hit, 'My Love Grows Stronger' & 'Show Me You Can Dance'. The final two tracks are 'b' sides one of which 'Don't Put Off Till Tomorrow What You Can Do Today' sounds very familiar but does not appear to have been recorded by anyone else!

As is always the case with an Ace release they have compiled a most informative essay about the Monitors. The group had a very complex history of different names and group members the best known is of course the wonderful Richard Street who went on to join the Temptations.

Thanks to all who were involved in making this release a reality.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars
£15.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime