Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 2 June 2001
From the very opening bars of "Lullaby of Birdland", the sweet interplay of Vaughan's velvet voice and Brownie's mellifluous trumpet make this recording truly wonderful. Brownie took a break from the illustrious Max Roach Quintet to play with Vaughan and a band put together for the date.
It exudes the aura of great occasions - collective confidence, fluid ideas and the chemistry of a fresh association. It's one of those records that leave you yearning for more; her later After Hours (1961) is similarly frustrating in length. But a concentrated selection of superbly executed songs is like a little treat. Her command of the material's harmonic intricacies is all the more remarkable for the ease and grace with which she delivers it. On this recording Sarah Vaughan exhibited her elegant phrasing with awesome mastery.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
£8.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime