Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 18 August 2010
The Fulham born rapper, initials e.g. who in his own words has transformed into producing dysfunctional electro-pop, 5 months after releasing his chart-stomping single "Wont Go Quietly" has produced his first album with Data Records, collaborating with notable artists such as Calvin Harris, Chase & Status and Sub Focus to a versatile effect.

`Watch the Sun Come Up' was the first to make a brief appearance back in September 2009 from the album, before his second single, not needed to be mentioned raised the rapper's reputation massively and after a 3rd single release of the album in the shape of `Kickstarts' we've finally got to see the range of sounds behind the man named Example.

No one could accuse the man of a bland, dull and samey album mixing a combination of dubstep, pop and house into a massive blend before topping it off with his own lyrics. And while there are a few mainstream orientated tracks in there, with the help of Benga, there are some lively tracks to be heard. `Dirty Face' is a stern culprit for one of those semi-popular electro tunes that creep into the commercial clubs of the nation and it's plain to see why. With it's catchy chorus and quote worthy one-liners `You won't get a drink, cos I'm tight as f*ck", you can almost see the lyrics in the bio section of someones facebook page.

With the latest trends it seems obvious to say that Calvin Harris has placed his own vibrant, off-beat, high-end synth touch to the album in `Time Machine', with his sound instantly familiar to songs such as `Acceptable in the 80's' and `Girls', it's clear to see what Example is trying to achieve and whilst it's understandable, if he was a school student, this album is the equivalent to him dragging in the geek of the class and getting him to do his work for him and reaping the rewards.

Despite that analysation, there are some nifty little songs to be found, albeit with see-through major influence that are no doubt making this album a nice collection of collaborations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.3 out of 5 stars
£3.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime