Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 15 November 2011
This is a much-needed overview of Chaka Khan's solo career. Both "Epiphany" and "The Platinum Collection" covered the major hits, but left out minor hits and fan favourites. This collection from Demon Music Group does an excellent job of covering the hits along with album tracks.

All the big hits are here: "I'm Every Woman" and "Ain't Nobody" are featured in their original versions, plus the dance remixes featured on Chaka's 1989 remix album; "I Feel For You" and "Through the Fire" are also included. Finally, we get a compilation which features "Clouds", "Love Me All My Lifetime", "Love of a Lifetime" and Chaka's cover of Michael Jackson's "Got To Be There". An "essential" Chaka compilation would be incomplete without these songs. "Life is a Dance", "Roll Me Through the Rushes", "We Can Work It Out" and "It's My Party" are welcome additions. We even get the B-side of "What'cha Gonna Do For Me" called "Lover's Touch". There's also a generous sampling of Chaka's jazz output, including "I'll Be Around" featuring Miles Davis, "Don't Go To Strangers" (with Rufus), and "End of a Love Affair" (but nothing from Chaka's "Echoes of an Era" collaboration).

I should note that the copy I received was a bit confusing. On the back of the slip cover, there is a different tracklisting (an error which is also included in the credits in the inlay). It notes the Rufus/Chaka live version of "Tell Me Something Good" as the first track on Disc Two and omits "Fate", but this is wrong; the tracklisting on Amazon is indeed the correct listing. This may have been a last-minute decision to omit "Something Good" and feature "Fate", but it's a smart one since "Fate" is a great track.

The sound is decent and the price is a bargain. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
£8.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime