Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Explore Subscribe & Save across Household brands Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

16 March 2012
I love the idea that all the best contemporary jazz doesn't come out of the USA. Therefore, 'Art of Silence' from Polish band Slow is a real treat.

They show, with songs like 'First Impression', Payola' and 'Iguana Party' that they have got the groove aspect of contemporary jazz well and truly down.

Instrumentally, well, I'm hearing some astonishing soprano sax, some subtle acoustic guitar and edgy electric guitar. The juicy bass solo on 'Gender Blender' made me smile almost as much as the song title.

The band can capture a mellow mood and they show this on 'Wczesna Sjesta', 'Spokojnie' and 'Art of Silence'.

'Ada' is the only song here that betrays any kind of European roots and 'Way Out' is an aptly-titled fusion workout which runs to almost 9 minutes.

This is a well-rounded album from real jazz musicians that displays a wealth of talent and potential. Hear it as soon as you can.
One person found this helpful
0Comment Report abuse Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

5.0 out of 5 stars