Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Review

on 16 November 2011
Excellent drama series, highly recommended to those who haven't seen it before or if you want to watch again.

This three DVD set runs from Apr 1944 -- May 1945

The three episodes included on this DVD set are as follows...
(Sequential Episode Numbers in brackets)

1 (17) "Plan of Attack"
Milner and DCS Meredith (Foyle's replacement) arrest a racketeer, a map-maker is found hanged in local woods, after confiding in a local German Catholic priest. Milner is the subject of an attempted assassination, and Foyle is reluctantly called back from retirement to help solve both cases.

2 (18) "Broken Souls"
Foyle's aquantance Josef Novak, a psychiatrist at a nearby military mental-health institution, meet for a chess game, and later Dr Worth is murdered at Novak's institution.
Finding a missing East End boy in the Hastings area is taken up by Sam. Meanwhile Fred Dawson, a former Prisoner of war, arrives back to find his wife and child being helped on his farm by a German POW. Suspecting his wife Rose of an affair with Johann and he resents the easy manner the German has with his wife and son.

3 (19) "All Clear"
VE Day, Foyle joins the councils' celebration committee where he meets Major John Kieffer again. ("Invasion" series "Four"). When a committee member is killed, the celebrations take a back seat, as Foyle sets out to uncover the murderer delving into dark secrets that the Allied forces wish to keep hidden.

These three episodes were originally made to be the last ones, due to the series being axed, with 'All Clear' as the last. Such was the outcry for a return, another three episodes were made and the next DVD series 6 is the result.

Be warned (UK Only):
DVD Series sequence is different from TV Series Sequence.
(Episodes do run in same order though)

DVD "Series 5" is a little misleading to UK audiences, as on TV these three episodes broadcast on ITV as Series Six. This is because ITV Broadcasted Series Four as just two episodes, and then Series Five as again just two episodes. On DVD these two series were combined onto one DVD Set "Series 4".
So this DVD "Series 5" is ITV Series Six and the next DVD set "Series 6" is ITV Series Seven. Confusing huh?

Rumour has it another Series is being made to be shown on ITV in 2012. This will be advertised as (on ITV) Series Eight, and when eventually released on DVD it will be "Series 7"...

... So be assured, you are not missing a DVD box set from your collection!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
£14.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime