Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 July 2010
Aaaaah the memories,my mums face when i strolled in with this album under my arm back in the vinyl days,great stuff,to pee your parents off and you havent even played it a full volume yet,ha ha.

That was then,this is now and another remaster,the production on this album always sounded thin to me,the remaster just enhances that and at times its a bit shrill,trebly particularly up loud,at the time Coverdale hated it,said it should have been an E.P and wanted to redo the drums when Ian Paice joined,it wasnt to be and poor old David Dowle was shown the door after the albums completion

However its a great album and the class is obvious another step up from the previous release,the album opens with a classic one ,two of 'Long Long Way From Home' and 'Walkin' In The Shadow Of The Blues',two of the finest tracks penned by the band,the former another one of those classic sing along feel good tracks Coverdale was so good at while the latter just motors along the classic groove and makes you want to punch your fist in the air,fabulous stuff.Up next a lost gem,the soulful ballad 'Help Me Thru The Day' which allows David Coverdale to show he's blessed with a fantastic voice.

The rest of the album is split between classic rockers such as 'Medicine Man','You N Me',the decidedly average 'Mean Business',2 underated tracks,the Bernie Marsden sung 'Outlaw' and the Quo Riffery of 'Rock n Roll Women' alongside the epic title track 'Love Hunter' best track on the album and the short ballad 'We Wish You Well'

Bonus tracks are from a radio 1 session,i'd never heard of,superb renditions of 'Belgian Toms Hat Trick','Love To Keep You Warm','Aint No Love....' and 'Trouble',the three tracks from '78's Trouble album sounded tougher in the live setting with another superb rendition of 'Aint No Love...',did he ever not sing it superbly?

The remaster booklet as ever is smothered in photos although its a bit harsh to have Ian Paice everywhere to the exclusion of David Dowle who's almost airbrushed out of existance.Another must buy disc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime