Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

What do you want from rock music? If the answer is blistering, incendiary post hardcore by a bunch of musicians hell bent on testing the limits of the noise tolerance of near neighbours and threatening the internal gubbings of your audio equipment then "Open your heart" ticks every box. The Men are from Brooklyn the new music capital of the US and comprise noise terrorists Mark Perro and Nick Chiericozzi plus Rich Samis on drums and bassist Ben Greenberg (aka Hubble). They are a band who are at their thrilling best on this beast of a third album "Open your heart" with its echos of the Buzzcocks, Husker Du, Japandroids, Sonic Youth and a dash of Thin Lizzy. Yes its an eclectic list but all these bands understand the role of rock n roll as a redemptiive destination and the need to blast through brick walls to get there. Thus you would be well advised to start at the end and seek out the track "Ex-Dreams" with its massive monster riffs which thrash and pound with a harshness and ebullient energy that could be an alternative to nuclear fusion. The vocals when they come are lower than a snakes belly in the mix but actually add to the tracks raw power. Its also great fun and anyone with a computer can check it out for free on a variety of American music blogs. The seven minute plus perfection of "Oscillation" alternatively is powerful slow burn which builds up sequentially to a huge anthem which should have squatting rights on your stereo and a place in your heart. Equally for the sheer brass neck of stealing the Buzzcocks riff from "Ever fallen in Love" the title track to the album is classic piece of mosh pit mayhem which could lead to a long queue in the local accident and emergency ward. The band however are no mere one trick hardcore ponies and any one listening to "Candy" will recall the Stones on one of their many country outings in songs like "Sweet Virginia".

Following on from the uber intelligent hardcore of last years brilliant "David Comes to Life" by Fxxked Up, we again have a band prepared to mix an acute pop sensibility with diamond hard riffs. The albums opener "Turn it around" is Exhibit A in this respect showing how effective testosterone fuelled rock music should be done. As vocalist Nick Chiericozzi declares that he "wants to hear you write a love song," you pause to wonder why he doesn't practice what he preaches but move on quickly. All in all "Open your heart" is a tremendous album which forcefully bludgeons its way into you affections, it is raw power revisited and jammed packed with piledriver arrogance.
55 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

5.0 out of 5 stars
£16.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime