Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's
Customer Review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fiery Conclusion to an Excellent Dragon Epic, 20 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Order of the Scales (Paperback)
The story which began in The Adamantine Palace and grew in The King of the Crags reaches a fitting and fiery conclusion in this, The Order of the Scales. Notorious for his revival of Dragons as they should be - fierce and furious - Stephen Deas, in this final volume of the `Memory of Flames' trilogy, shows us that he is more than capable of putting an end to the entertaining tales he begins. On this final (for now) trip to the Dragon Realms, he offers us more of what we loved in the previous novels and blowing it up to a whole new scale. Dragon lovers, this one is, without a doubt, for you.

The Order of the Scales is, broadly, the epic clash that has been foreseeable since the first moment we set foot in the Dragon Realms. On top of rogue dragons, the previous two tomes have established a harsh political climate between the Dragon Kings and Queens as well as other mounting problems which means a final `venting' or the pressure that has built up across this world. On the political side, Jehal and Zafir are still in the forefront, but others continue to play significant parts in the scheming, back-stabbing and bickering. Hinted at mysteries which Deas has been holding back until now finally see the light of day in this third installment.

There is a discernible shift in this third novel, away from the court-side intrigue in favor of observing the consequences of the first two novels' actions on the characters. Kemir's dire condition is, perhaps, the best example of Deas's care for the characters, though his storyline did end - and appear to become insignificant - a bit too abruptly for my tastes. As mentioned, Jehal features prominently once again, and he exhibits the some of the greatest amounts of growth amongst all of the characters. Truly it has been interesting to see him evolve so thoroughly over the through books - kudos to Deas for that.

Perhaps a bit shallowly - but thankfully - one of Deas's greatest strengths remains how he can deliver an enthusiastic, and brilliantly executed, dose of heart-thumping dragon action. The Order of the Scales sees a dragon battle on a scale not seen many times before, even in Deas's two other novel. This is, after-all, what he and his books have come to be known for.Past the political and human turmoil and the fighting, the novel unwinds in a surprising way. Deas does not disappoint in that he brings the trilogy to a satisfying end, but he does also manage to leave enough dangling that he can pick up some of the threads in the subsequent novels he appears to already be working on.

Brutal, chaotic and heart-wrenching, this concluding entry in the `Memory of Flames' trilogy brings this chapter in the history of the Dragon Realms to a fast-paced and well-wrought end. The Order of the Scales is not a perfect novel, but it is just as good as anything Stephen Deas has given us in the past, and in some ways better. Certainly, readers who enjoyed The Adamantine Palace and The King of the Crags will not feel let down one bit by this third novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]


Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,783,308